Background Information
Biographical dictionary of persons of distinction in the British Isles and its colonies who have died. NOTE: Only 1 simultaneous user allowed.
Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information.
The essential database for identifying scholarly and critical studies of literature and folklore around the world and from all time periods. It includes related fields, such as linguistics, film, and popular culture.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Contains citations, abstracts, and full-text to literature on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.
The Cambridge History of Victorian Literature by
This collaborative History aims to become the standard work on Victorian literature for the twenty-first century. Well-known scholars introduce readers to their particular fields, discuss influential critical debates and offer illuminating contextual detail to situate authors and works in their wider cultural and historical contexts. Sections on publishing and readership and a chronological survey of major literary developments between 1837 and 1901, are followed by essays on topics including sexuality, sensation, cityscapes, melodrama, epic and economics. Victorian writing is placed in its complex relation to the Empire, Europe and America, as well as to Britain's component nations. The final chapters consider how Victorian literature, and the period as a whole, influenced twentieth-century writers. Original, lucid and stimulating, each chapter is an important contribution to Victorian literary studies. Together, the contributors create an engaging discussion of the ways in which the Victorians saw themselves and of how their influence has persisted.
Key Concepts in Victorian Literature by
Key Concepts in Victorian Literature is a lively, clear and accessible resource for anyone interested in Victorian literature. It contains major facts, ideas and contemporary literary theories, is packed with close and detailed readings and offers an overview of the historical and cultural context in which this literature was produced.
Posting It by
Only the threat of losing her brother could force Ariel Johnson to break out of her predictable existence and into the stronghold of a changeling's ancestral estate. Following him from a mystical island to a remote Appalachian resort, she's trapped between sibling loyalty and an unquenchable desire for a lover who is both beast and man. But when Cameron Drake's inner beast is awakened by the beauty he would claim for his perfect mate, his human side is not so easily convinced-for he knows Ariel is in the pocket of a sorcerer who wants his family dead. There are no easy choices for a woman who has yet to embrace her power within. And when love is wrapped in a curse, all will pay to play....
The Victorian Parlour by
The parlour was the centre of the Victorian home and, as Thad Logan shows, the place where contemporary conflicts about domesticity and gender relations were frequently played out. In The Victorian Parlour: A Cultural Study, Logan uses an interdisciplinary approach that combines the perspectives of art history, social history and literary theory to describe and analyse the parlour as a cultural artefact. She offers a detailed investigation of specific objects in the parlour, and argues that these things articulated social meaning and could present symbolic resolutions to disturbances in the social field. The book concludes with a discussion of how representations of the parlour in literature and art reveal the pleasures and anxieties associated with Victorian domestic life.
Why Victorian Literature Still Matters by
Why Victorian Literature Still Matters is a passionate defense of Victorian literature's enduring impact and importance for readers interested in the relationship between literature and life, reading and thinking. Explores the prominence of Victorian literature for contemporary readers and academics, through the author's unique insight into why it is still important today Provides new frames of interpretation for key Victorian works of literature and close readings of important texts Argues for a new engagement with Victorian literature, from general readers and scholars alike Seeks to remove Victorian literature from an entrenched set of values, traditions and perspectives - demonstrating how vital and resonant it is for modern literary and cultural analysis
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
© 2016-23 The University of Texas at Arlington.
University of Texas Arlington Libraries
702 Planetarium Place · Arlington, TX 76019 · 817-272-3000