Subject and Course Guides: Victorian Literature & Culture: Home

Victorian Era (1837-1901) is the period in British history when Queen Victoria ruled. It was a long period of peace, prosperity, refined sensibilities and national self-confidence for Britain.

Recommended Resources

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
A super-index to nineteenth century books, periodical, official documents, newspapers and archives.
C19: The Nineteenth Century is a source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. It's a super-index to more than 16 million documents that includes the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, and the British Periodicals. It links to other 19th century full-text sources in the UTA Library's collection such as American Periodical Series Online, Periodicals Archive Online and Palmer's Full-Text Online.
NINES: Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
NINES contains peer-reviewed scholarly and educational materials dealing with the all aspects of British and American culture during the long nineteenth century (1770-1920).
NINES vets freely-available digital objects in nineteenth-century studies for scholarly integrity and aggregates metadata (or descriptive information) about them in a faceted search-and-browsing interface. The objects themselves are accessible via links to the federated websites that have contributed them.
Included are traditional texts and documents as well as “born-digital” materials. Also there are software tools that aid collation and comparative analysis and enable pedagogical applications.
British Periodicals Collection (1681 - 1939) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of journals covering literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, and the social sciences from the late 17th century to the early 20th century.
British Periodicals Collection I and II trace the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the 17th century through to the Victorian "age of periodicals" and beyond. British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered in Collection I include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, and the social sciences. British Periodicals Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles, amounting to almost 3 million pages. Topics covered in Collection II include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture. Together containing more than six million keyword-searchable pages, these two collections form an unrivaled resource beneficial to researchers interested in British history, literature, philosophy, science, fine arts, social sciences, humanities, and numerous other fields.

Victorian Literature & Culture

Related Research Guides