Subject and Course Guides: Public Relations: Psychographics, Demographics, & Public Opinion

Databases

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure). Details to establish the full-tunnel connection can be found here.
A mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Works best with Firefox or Safari. There are known compatibility issues with Chrome when accessing off-campus or through campus WiFi.
Please note only five simultaneous users are allowed.

SimplyAnalytics (was SimplyMap) provides users the most current demographic, business, and marketing data available. It provides the following nation-wide data: Demographic Variables: Population, Age, Race, Income, Ancestry, Marital Status, Housing, Employment, Transportation, Families, and more. Historical census data: including 1980, 1990 & 2000, plus current year census estimates and 5 year projections. Business Variables: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments. Life Stage Clusters are a neighborhood classification system based on the crucial factors (84 Possible Life Stages based upon: Age of Head of Households; Marital Status; and Household Income) that determine life's key decisions. EASI/Mediamark Research Inc. (MRI) Propensity Data: Produces current estimates of usage and consumption (propensity) for thousands of very specific and detailed products, including actual brand data, details of frequency of usage, and more; annually prepares estimates for about 3,000+ MRI categories of propensities using updated demographic estimates; and Propensity Data incorporates the following data: Automotive, Beverages, Sports, Ailments/Remedies, Apparel, Appliances, Attitudes/Lifestyles, Baby, Computers, Electronics, Family Restaurants, and Fast Food, Financial, Grocery, Insurance, Internet, Leisure, Media, Personal Care, Pets, Purchasing, Telephony, Travel. Health: Answers to frequently asked questions about disease, health status, doctor visits and more; Health Questions Age 18+ & under 18; and Death Causes Since there is some training required in order to understand a few concepts related to mapping, we highly recommend that you watch our 6 minute tutorial to get the most out of SimplyAnalytics. The tutorial can be accessed by clicking on the "Tutorial" link in the top right corner of SimplyAnalytics.

NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Policymap is an online data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.
Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
(available at many Public Libraries)
A directory of detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses and 210 million U.S. residents. Researchers can search by company name, geographic area, business type or by combinations of these criteria. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, parent and subsidiary information, SIC and NAICS codes, competitors, and public filings information.

NOTE: Only 50 simultaneous users allowed.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Points of View Reference Source provides a series of articles representing multiple controversial viewpoints. This resource can be used as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
Points of View Reference Source is a full-text database which provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Topics covered include such as: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, the Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardizing testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, etc.
iPoll This link opens in a new window
The largest archives of public opinion polls with over 500,000 questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935. Available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students of UT Arlington.
iPOLL is the largest archives of public opinion polls with over 500,000 questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935. Topics include: economic issues/policy; education; elections, political parties/figures; government institutions; health issues; international affairs; news media/coverage; personal characteristics, beliefs, and lifestyles; polls and polling; science & technology; social issues; and U.S. defense & foreign policy. Also included are several thousand polls taken in some 70 foreign countries with emphasis on Latin America.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a comprehensive web-based data management system that allows UTA faculty and students to easily retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is an Internet-based data research service from the Wharton School at the University of Pennslvania. WRDS is a comprehensive web-based data management system that allows faculty and students to easily retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. WRDS is best known for its holdings of historical financial data from CRSP and Compustat. This data covers over 30,000 companies and includes security prices and trading volume, income and balance sheet items.

American Customer Satisfaction Index
The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.
National Opinion Research Center (NORC)
NORC at the University of Chicago is an objective, non-partisan research institution that delivers reliable data and rigorous analysis to guide critical programmatic, business, and policy decisions.