Created by NCSU Library
UTA Writing Center
Contact the UTA Writing Center for assistance with your writing assignments.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Vol. Number(Issue Number), Pages. DOI
Stultz, J. (2006). Integrating exposure therapy and analytic therapy in trauma treatment. American Journal of Orthopsychiatry, 76(4), 482-488. https://doi.org/10.1037/0002-9432.76.4.482
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year, Month Day). Web page title. URL
Cain, A., & Buris, M. (1999, April). Investigation of the use of mobile phone while driving. http://www.cutr.eng.usf.edu/its/mobile_phone_txt.htm
Author, A. A. (Year). Title. Place of Publication: Publisher.
Burke, P. (2017). Exiles and expatriates in the history of knowledge, 1500-2000. Brandeis University Press.
Modern Language Association (MLA) Citation Style
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group projects Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism A sample essay in MLA format Annotated bibliography examples Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Use a citation management tool to create personalized databases of your source references.
Citation management applications will allow you to:
Register a personal account with your UTA email
EndNote (Basic) Online is an online reference management solution. EndNote online users can create an online library with up to 50,000 references and up to 2GB of attachments. As part of UTA's Web of Science subscription, EndNote Online offers users registered with UTA emails thousands of styles and hundreds of filters and connection files.
For assistance on navigating through EndNote, please see this LibGuide
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
© 2016-23 The University of Texas at Arlington.
University of Texas Arlington Libraries
702 Planetarium Place · Arlington, TX 76019 · 817-272-3000