Online Archival Resources Guide

A collection of photographs produced by the Arlington Citizen-Journal newspaper (based in Arlington, Texas), which originated from the merger of the Arlington Journal (est. 1897 as the first newspaper published in Arlington) and the Arlington Citizen (est. 1934). The collection includes photographs of buildings, events, landmarks, people, schools and street scenes in the Arlington area. The most notable photographs include images of Arlington Downs; Arlington State College/The University of Texas at Arlington including the 1957 Junior Rose Bowl game; General Motors plant; Mineral Well; schools; and local businesses.

Collection of photographs from the Culmer Family Papers of the Dallas-based Priscilla Art Club, organized in 1911 as a support system for young, married African-American women.

A collection of digitized materials related to the life and work of entrepreneur and Fort Worth promoter Amon G. Carter. UTA Special Collections digitized 5,000 negatives from the Fort Worth Star-Telegram—which was owned by Carter and regularly documented his local and national activities—as well as digitized telegrams from the Meacham-Carter Family Papers collection. This project was in collaboration with Texas Christian University Special Collections, which has digitized materials relevant to Carter’s involvement in the commercial aviation industry, his associations with prominent individuals, his son’s imprisonment as a World War II POW, as well as his business and personal correspondence.

A collection of over 70,000 digitized photographs produced by the Fort Worth Star-Telegram newspaper (based in Fort Worth, Texas), which originated from the merger of the Fort Worth Star (est. 1906) and the Fort Worth Telegram (est. 1909). The collection chronicles the history of Fort Worth and surrounding areas covering a variety of subjects, people, events, and sports spanning the late 1800s through 1991. See the finding aid here.

A collection of photographs documenting the history of Arlington, Texas, the first pioneer settlement in Tarrant County, from the late 19th century through the 20th century. The collection of photographs span over 100 years in time and include public buildings, businesses and business interiors, street scenes, parades and rallies, bands, homes, churches, schools, railroad depots, cotton gins, sports, the fire department, early residents, city officials, beauty queens, soldiers and veterans, and more.

A collection consisting primarily of photographs and slides acquired, reproduced, or created by Fort Worth native Jack White while collecting images of the city of Fort Worth for over forty years. The images highlight Fort Worth's history and expansion, focusing on city and county leaders, historic buildings, and the economic and cultural growth and development of Fort Worth throughout its history. Also included are some photographs of other metroplex cities, such as Arlington and Dallas, and several views of the Dallas-Fort Worth Airport and the Dallas-Fort Worth Turnpike. See the finding aid here.

A collection of photographs from the personal papers of John W. Carpenter which document his career in business, industry, and community service in Texas. The bulk of the collection is records of the Trinity Improvement Association and the Trinity River Authority, 1930-1980, and includes materials on the Trinity River Navigation Company, 1891-1909.

A collection of photographs primarily documenting the commercial, industrial, and neighborhood growth of the Dallas area following World War II. Aerial, architectural, and State Fair of Texas images are represented, as well as commercial and convention assignments. See the finding aid here.

This collection includes over 30,000 digitized photographs, through the eyes of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram photographers, documenting everyday life in Fort Worth, Texas during World War II. This digitization project resulted from a TexTreasures grant awarded by the Texas State Library & Archives Commission.

A collection of photographs documenting the growth and development of Fort Worth, Tarrant County, and the North Texas region. Subjects include aerial views, airports, buildings (civic, commercial, and private), group photographs and individuals, parks, street scenes, the 1949 flood in Fort Worth, and a variety of subjects photographed for commercial advertising purposes.

A collection of early Fort Worth photographs, the majority of which were taken during the late-1800s and early to mid-1900s. The collection features a wide array of subjects including street scenes, people, parades, houses, schools, churches, businesses, and parks.

A collection of digitized photographs from Dallas Times-Herald photographer Andy Hanson from 1955-2008. This collection includes photographs of both national and local politicians, business leaders, musicians, singers, stage, motion picture screen and television stars, comedians, authors, artists, athletes, opera virtuosi, among other professions and Dallas people of note.

A collection of digitized photograps produced by photographer Calvin Littlejohn in Fort Worth. Subjects including studio portraits, social gatherings, church services, and other images of the African-American experience in North Texas.

A collection of digitized photographs produced by photojournalist R. C. Hickman for newspapers, magazines, and the NAACP. Materials document the social history of African Americans in Dallas, circa 1940s-1960s.

The Dallas Morning News has been serving the North Texas community since 1885. Its parent company, A. H. Belo Corporation, is Texas’ oldest continually operating company. It publishes The Dallas Morning News daily.

The Fort Worth Star was founded in 1906 and merged with the Fort Worth Telegram in 1909 to become the Fort Worth Star-Telegram. The newspaper bears a rich and colorful legacy tied to the Old West.