Subject and Course Guides: Multimedia: Films, Images, Audio: Music & Audio

Databases

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Over 321,000 tracks of music can be downloaded. Primarily classical standard repretoire, with some jazz, popular, world music, and historical recordings. NOTE: Only 10 simultaneous users allowed.
NAXOS is a collection of all of the Naxos catalogues of recordings along with those from other leading independent labels. Users can stream a wide variety of classical, jazz, new age, and world music. The collection is benchmarked against the Music Library Association's Basic Music Library. It has simple and advanced searching, common (non-proprietary) software requirements and extensive background information such as complete liner notes.

NOTE: Only 10 simultaneous users allowed.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Brings together Grove Music Online and several other Oxford music resources allowing the users to search all at one time. NOTE: Only 3 simultaneous users allowed.
Oxford Music Online brings together the following music resources allowing users to search all at once: Grove Music Online includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz and covers church music, composers, ethnomusicology, instruments, jazz, music genres, music printing, music publishing, music terminology, musicians, notation, performance practice, popular music, and world music The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) which offers articles on composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres. The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd Edition, Revised which supplements Grove’s with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Encyclopedia of Popular Music edited by Colin Larkin and covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.

NOTE: Only 3 simultaneous users allowed.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) This link opens in a new window
IMSLP is the International Music Score Library Project which was started in 2006. The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge. IMSLP has over 102,959 works, 342,314 scores, 38,827 recordings, 13,705 composers, and 353 performers.
Orchestral Music Online This link opens in a new window
Access to information on more than 6700 works by some 900 composers. Advanced search by duration, instrumentation, chorus type, and soloists. Monthly updates with new composers, new works, additional information, and corrections.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. NOTE: Only 3 simultaneous users allowed.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz. It includes thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums and genres from numerous legendary record labels. The artists range from past greats to musicians performing and recording today. Liner notes to all the albums are included. Content is added on a regular basis.

NOTE: Only 3 simultaneous users allowed.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
Contains International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Includes works for the solo voice in Latin, Italian, German, French, Spanish, and English.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the world of music, from both scholarly and popular music journals
The International Index to Music Periodicals covers all aspects of the world of music, from both scholarly and popular music journals. Subjects covered include musicians, history of music, musicology, instruments, music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition, world music, obituaries. Some journals are available in full text format.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of international publications on music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature provides comprehensive coverage of international publications on music, including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.

Multimedia: Films, Images, Audio

Architecture & Fine Arts Library

Databases