Modern Languages

Focusing on the nature and use of language, LLBA covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language (speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language forms, spelling, phonetics); and research in speech, language and hearing pathology. Document types indexed are bibliographies, books, conferences, journal articles, and book reviews. Coverage is international.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides extensive access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals previously included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, theses, audiovisual media, directories, monographs and government documents.

The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains primary information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Fuente Académica Premier is an extensive full-text database that contains over 650 scholarly journals and books from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain in Spanish, Portuguese, or English. This is a multidisciplinary database that covers all major subject areas, with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, business, computer science, economics, history, law, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, and sociology. Fuente Académica Premier is updated regularly.

The Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 provides access to a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture. The collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest international project to locate, preserve, and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. It includes thousands of historical articles, newspapers, religious and political pamphlets, broadsides, historical books, letters, short stories, poems, advertisements, and more. The content is mostly in Spanish (80%) with some materials in English (20%). It is indexed and searchable in both languages.

Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.

ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of French Language) provides access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. It consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondences, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. A number of Provencal texts have been added in their original spellings. In addition to the main ARTFL database, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, access is provided to the following subscription databases: French Women Writers; Provençal Poetry; Textes de Français Ancien (TFA); Journal de Trévoux; Dictionnaire historique et critique; Le Grand dictionnaire historique; and Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database.

Athena Littérature Française is part of the University of Geneva's Athena Project. It contains the full-text works of numerous classic French authors, including Rabelais, Voltaire, and Zola, as well as several Swiss authors. Works are primarily in French.