Focused on the nature and use of language. Covers research in linguistics; research in language; and research in speech, language and hearing pathology
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides references to a broad range of educational topics. Includes articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, reports and standards
This database is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
This site includes all e-journals published by Sage. The UTA Libraries has an agreement with Sage to cover APCs for corresponding authors. Visit our Open Access Agreements page for more info. Utilize the 'Advanced Search' and select either "Open Access content only" or "Only content I have full access to" in order to retrieve full-text titles to which UTA subscribes.
The Routledge Handbook of Instructed Second Language Acquisition by
The Routledge Handbook of Instructed Second Language Acquisition is the first collection of state-of-the-art papers pertaining to Instructed Second Language Acquisition (ISLA). Written by 45 world-renowned experts, the entries are full-length articles detailing pertinent issues with up-to-date references. Each chapter serves three purposes: (1) provide a review of current literature and discussions of cutting edge issues; (2) share the authors' understanding of, and approaches to, the issues; and (3) provide direct links between research and practice. In short, based on the chapters in this handbook, ISLA has attained a level of theoretical and methodological maturity that provides a solid foundation for future empirical and pedagogical discovery. This handbook is the ideal resource for researchers, graduate students, upper-level undergraduate students, teachers, and teacher-educators who are interested in second language learning and teaching. .
Evidence-Based Second Language Pedagogy by
Evidence-Based Second Language Pedagogyis a cutting-edge collection of empirical research conducted by top scholars focusing on instructed second language acquisition (ISLA) and offering a direct contribution to second language pedagogy by closing the gap between research and practice. Building on the conceptual, state-of-the-art chapters in The Routledge Handbook of Instructed Second Language Acquisition (2017), studies in this volume are organized according to the key components of ISLA: types of instruction, learning processes, learning outcomes, and learner and teacher psychology. The volume responds to pedagogical needs in different L2 teaching and learning settings by including a variety of theoretical frameworks (sociological, psychological, sociocultural, and cognitive), methodologies (qualitative and quantitative), target languages (English, Spanish, and Mandarin), modes of instruction (face-to-face and computer-mediated), targets of instruction (speaking, writing, listening, motivation, and professional development), and instructional settings (second language, foreign language, and heritage language). A novel synthesis of research in the rapidly growing field of ISLA that also covers effective research-based teaching strategies, Evidence-Based Second Language Pedagogyis the ideal resource for researchers, practitioners, and graduate students in SLA, applied linguistics, and TESOL. speaking, writing, listening, motivation, and professional development), and instructional settings (second language, foreign language, and heritage language). A novel synthesis of research in the rapidly growing field of ISLA that also covers effective research-based teaching strategies, Evidence-Based Second Language Pedagogyis the ideal resource for researchers, practitioners, and graduate students in SLA, applied linguistics, and TESOL.
Recent Perspectives on Task-Based Language Learning and Teaching by
The last three decades have witnessed a growth of interest in research on tasks from various perspectives and numerous books and collections of articles have been published focusing on the notion of task and its utility in different contexts. Nevertheless, what is lacking is a multi-faceted examination of tasks from different important perspectives. This edited volume, with four sections of three chapters each, views tasks and Task-based Language Teaching (TBLT) from four distinct (but complementary) vantage points. In the first section, all chapters view tasks from a cognitive-interactionist angle with each addressing one key facet of either cognition or interaction (or both) in different contexts (CALL and EFL/ESL). Section two hinges on the idea that language teaching and learning is perhaps best conceptualized, understood, and investigated within a complexity theory framework which accounts for the dynamicity and interrelatedness of the variables involved. Viewing TBLT from a sociocultural lens is what connects the chapters included in the third section. Finally, the fourth section views TBLT from pedagogical and curricular vantage points.
Second Language Research Handbook of Classroom Learning by
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Research in Classroom Learningis a comprehensive psycholinguistic approach to the issue of instructed language learning that is uniquely theoretical, methodological, empirical, pedagogical, and curricular. Bringing together empirical studies with theoretical underpinnings, this handbook focuses on conceptual replications/extensions of, and new research on, classroom learning or Instructed SLA (ISLA). In chapters from leading experts, the Handbookreports on the tenets of several models that have postulated the roles of cognitive processes in the L2 learning process and also covers two major methodological data-elicitation procedures to be employed in addressing learner cognitive processes (think-aloud protocols and eye-tracking). With a dedicated interest in the role of this research in pedagogical ramifications, this handbook strives for deeper understanding of how L2 learners process L2 data in instructional settings. ngs.
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
© 2016-23 The University of Texas at Arlington.
University of Texas Arlington Libraries
702 Planetarium Place · Arlington, TX 76019 · 817-272-3000
