Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mendeley Guide

Ask me about Mendeley!

Profile Photo
Antoinette Nelson
Contact:
Central Library
Office: 313
817-272-7433
Website

Import New RefWorks data to Mendeley

1. Login to your Mendeley account using your UTA email address.

2. How to create a Collection (folder)

  • In Mendeley, folders in your library are called Collections.
  • Click on the Library link in the top right menu in Mendeley.
  • In the left menu, under the Collections heading, hover over the phrase "New Collection" and click on it. A textbox appears. Type the name of your RefWorks folder here.

Mendeley Collections Menu

3. How to import references from New RefWorks

  1. At the top of the left menu in your Library, click on the button labeled "Add New".
  2. In the resulting dropdown menu, select Import Library --> RIS (*.ris).

Navigation to import RIS file from RefWorks into Mendeley

  1. Navigate to the .ris file of your RefWorks library, and select it. After a few seconds, you should see a confirmation that the files was successfully imported.
  2. Click on the "Recently Added" item in the left menu. You should now see the references that you just imported.
  3. Select all references by clicking on the checkbox in the header row next to Authors.

Select all recently added references using the checkbox at the top.


  1. With all references now selected, use the Organize --> Add to Collection tool at the bottom of the page to move the references into their corresponding Collection.

Use the Organize tool to move recently imported references into a Collection.