Subject and Course Guides: Gothic Literature: Library Resources

UTA Libraries Search

Diane's Recommended Databases

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
An online collection of English-language titles and editions published in the U.K. and the Americas between 1701 and 1800
An online collection of English and foreign language books, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera published in the U.K. and the Americas. Content is presented as full text page images which can be viewed online or downloaded as PDF documents. When completed there will be more than 33 million pages of material. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, in addition to those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide. The seven subject-specific areas of study are History and Geography; Social Sciences and Fine Arts; Medicine, Science, and Technology; Literature and Language; Religion and Philosophy; Law; and Reference.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
The essential database for identifying scholarly and critical studies of literature and folklore around the world and from all time periods. It includes related fields, such as linguistics, film, and popular culture.
Provides access to citations from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts in addition to the historical aspects of printing and publishing. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information.
You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
NINES: Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
NINES contains peer-reviewed scholarly and educational materials dealing with the all aspects of British and American culture during the long nineteenth century (1770-1920).
NINES vets freely-available digital objects in nineteenth-century studies for scholarly integrity and aggregates metadata (or descriptive information) about them in a faceted search-and-browsing interface. The objects themselves are accessible via links to the federated websites that have contributed them.
Included are traditional texts and documents as well as “born-digital” materials. Also there are software tools that aid collation and comparative analysis and enable pedagogical applications.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 This link opens in a new window
The index is now included in C19. Identifies the authors of articles within 45 major periodical published during the Victorian era when most articles were published anonymously or under pseudonyms.
Since most articles in Victorian periodicals were anonymous or pseudonymous, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals provides an important service for Victorian scholars. Wellesley is an index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym. Citations of evidence are provided to support attributions of authorship, along with brief biographical and vocational details. 45 important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century. The exception to this is the Edinburgh Review, which is indexed from first issue, in 1802. Wellesley does not index poetry The Wellesley Index provides seamless linking between article records, contributor and pseudonym records, and periodical introductions, and includes links to article full text for selected titles in Periodicals Archive Online and British Periodicals. It is also available through ProQuest'sC-19: The Nineteenth Century Index where it can be crossed searched with 10 other major indexes of 19th century content.

Encyclopedia of Gothic Literature by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
ISBN: 9781438109114
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Gothic Literature a Gale Critical Companion by Thomson Gale
ISBN: 9781414404868
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
The Gothic by David Punter; Glennis Byron
ISBN: 0631220623
Publication Date: 2004-01-30
Horrifying Sex by Ruth Bienstock Anolik (Editor)
ISBN: 9780786430147
Publication Date: 2007-07-02
The Handbook to Gothic Literature by Marie Mulvey-Roberts
ISBN: 0814756107
Publication Date: 1998-03-01
The Biology of Horror by Jack Morgan
ISBN: 0585464618
Publication Date: 2002-01-01

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 9082 views this year