What's in this Guide

Photo by DML East Branch
- Articles & Databases: English databases, specialized English databases, find articles by citation, magazine & newspaper databases, and interdisciplinary databases. Also included are links to open web resources and primary resources.
- Books & More: Search the library catalog, find information on book reviews and theses and dissertations.
- Reference Resources: Starting point for research that provides an overview. Also, use drop down menus for resource on statistics and government documents.
- Interlibrary Loan: Link to the Interlibrary Loan page and for TexShare card
- Citing Sources: Resources and guide on citing using MLA style, and links to RefWorks and Zotero (bibliographic citation management tools)
- Help: Contact information for librarians, the Writing Center and Ask Us links.
- Library Tech & Tools: Information on technology workshops and browser add-ons.
- Instructional Videos: Short video tutorials to help you search our databases and use the library.
This guide is broadly focused on resources that are of general interest to English students.
For guides on specific topics or classes (such as 13xx classes, textual histories, etc.), please click HERE.
Getting Started
Click on the above image for a video tutorial to help you get started with the Research Process.
In these databases, you'll find many articles, conference papers, reports, theses, books and more related to English. Some of these databases contain the complete or full-text of the article, while some are citation only (they do not contain the full text). If you find a citation and need help finding the complete article, please contact the English librarian!
- MLA International Bibliography
--Video Help with MLA.
Provides access to citations from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Coverage: 1926-present - Literature Resource Center
Contains information on both classical and contemporary authors and their works. Obtain biographies of authors, bibliographies of all they have written, critical essays and contextual information. - Academic Search Complete
Peer-reviewed full text articles for almost 4600 periodical titles in the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, etc. - Project Muse
Coverage: 1993-present. Full-text articles in humanities, arts, and social sciences from quality journal titles. Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. - JSTOR - The Scholarly Journal Archive
Coverage: The majority of journals in the archive have time lags of between 3 and 5 years (time lag = time between the most current issue published and issues available in JSTOR) JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers.
Off Campus Access
While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current UT Arlington student, faculty member, or staff member. See this page for help.
Rafia |
Contact Info Office: Central Library, Rm. 311 University of Texas at Arlington (817) 272-7428 rafia@uta.edu Send Email |
Twitter: @LibrarianRafia
Join the Conversation!
(Twitter account required. Registration is fast and free.)






Loading...
Loading...
