Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Guide

Importing from ProQuest Databases

Before beginning, first log in to your EndNote account. While I haven’t tested this on every ProQuest database, my example for Coronavirus Research Database most likely applies to all other ProQuest databases. If you find these instructions are unsuitable for a particular ProQuest database, please let me know and I’ll add an example for that database.

Coronavirus Research Database - Import One Article

These instructions apply to importing a single article from an EBSCO database. Scroll down to find instructions for importing multiple articles at once.

  1. From the article record page, click on the round “Cite” icon in the tools menu to the right of the article’s title.
  2. In the resulting popup box, click on the “RIS” icon for EndNote, Citavi, etc.
  3. In the next “Export/Save” popup box, leave everything set to default and click on “Continue”.
  4. Save the resulting .ris file to your computer.
    1. Make note of where you saved the file, because you will need to find it in the next step.
    2. You might want to rename it to something more appropriate than the system generated filename.
  5. Switch to EndNote and hover your mouse over the heading “Collect”. A submenu will appear.
    1. Click on “Import References” in the submenu.
    2. Click the “Browse” button to locate the .ris file you saved in the last step.
    3. Change the “Import Option” to “RefMan RIS”.
    4. Select the folder you wish to save the reference to. Click “Import”.
    5. If it works, a results page in EndNote will open with a success message.
  6. The PDF of the article is not included in the export/import process. You will need to upload PDFs individually.
    1. Switch back to the item record in ProQuest.
    2. From the item record page, look for the round “PDF” icon in the tools menu to the right of the article’s title. Click on it.
    3. Depending on how your browser is configured, you will either be prompted to download and save the PDF, or the PDF may download without these prompts. In either case, you will need to know where the file is saved and its filename. If unsure, check recent downloads in your browser.
      1. I recommend renaming the file with a more appropriate filename than the default generated by the system.
    4. Switch back to EndNote and navigate to the folder and record for the article using the “My References” menu on the far left of the screen.
    5. With the item record open, look for the heading “Attachments”. You may need to scroll down, or do a find-in-page. Click the heading to expand the contents.
    6. Click on the paperclip icon labeled “Attach files”. Follow the prompts to locate and upload the PDF to the item record.

Coronavirus Research Database - Import Multiple Articles

  1. From the search results list, select all articles that you want to export to EndNote using the checkboxes to the left of each article title. You can select all items on the page using the checkbox at the top of that same column.
  2. Click on the round “Cite” icon in the tools menu at the top right of the search results.
  3. In the resulting popup box, click on the “RIS” icon for EndNote, Citavi, etc.
  4. In the next “Export/Save” popup box, leave everything set to default and click on “Continue”.
  5. Save the resulting .ris file to your computer.
    1. Make note of where you saved the file, because you will need to find it in the next step.
    2. You might want to rename it to something more appropriate than the system generated filename.
  6. Switch to EndNote and hover your mouse over the heading “Collect”. A submenu will appear.
    1. Click on “Import References” in the submenu.
    2. Click the “Browse” button to locate the .ris file you saved in the last step.
    3. Change the “Import Option” to “RefMan RIS”.
    4. Select the folder you wish to save the reference to. Click “Import”.
    5. If it works, you will get a results page with a success message.
  7. For each item imported, add PDFs one by one as outlined in “One article”, #6, above.