Company & Industry: Company

• Business Source Complete
  A first place to look for almost anything related to business, this database includes more than 1,600 scholarly journals with full text articles, company profiles, country economic reports, industry reports, market research reports, general business magazines and SWOT analyses.
• Mergent Online
  Provides information up to 30 years of financial information on U.S. and non-U.S. companies including annual reports, financial data, Executive Search, Edgar searching, and Industry Reports.
• NexisUni  (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
  Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
  • To find company profiles using Nexis Dossier:
    • From the NexisUni homepage click on Business (near the bottom of the page)
    • Click on the Create a Company List in the Company Dossier box.
• Factiva
  Factiva provides breaking world news from The Wall Street Journal and other news sources, articles from popular business magazines, as well as scholarly business journals.
• Wall Street Journal
  Full-text articles from 1984 to current. A separate historical version which includes images is called ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal and covers 1889-2000.
• Data Axle Reference Solutions

This directory contains information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses, 855,000 U.S. health care providers, 89 million U.S. households, 203 million consumers, 300,000 new homeowners & 4 million new businesses.

• Compustat North America
  This comprehensive database provides company data going back 40 to 50 years on over 65,000 active and inactive public companies in the U.S. Fundamental balance sheet, income statement, and statement of cash flows information as well as additional information directed at investors and analysts.

How to Find a Company's NAICS or SIC Industry Code

1. Before you can locate company or industry ratios, you'll need to know the company's NAICS or SIC code.
2. To find your company's industry code use the database Mergent Online.
3. Enter your company's name or ticker symbol in the search box and click search.
4. Click on the company name.  Industry: SIC and Industry NAICS codes appear in the center of the blue box on across the top of the page. (purple area)
5. You can use NAICS or SIC code to create a custom report for competitor information.
6. Use the advanced search option in Mergent Online to create the report.
        (Instruction available at: http://libguides.uta.edu/content.php?pid=5383&sid=380026)

Mergent Online 
Provides information up to 30 years of financial information on U.S. and non-U.S. companies including annual reports, financial data, Executive Search, Edgar searching, and Industry Reports.

SWOT - Strengths / Weaknesses / Opportunities / Threats

What is a SWOT Analysis?

• SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats) analysis is a framework used to evaluate a company's competitive position and to develop strategic planning. SWOT analysis assesses internal and external factors, as well as current and future potential.  -- Investopedia

How to locate a SWOT Analysis

There are several databases that can be used for locating a company's SWOT Analysis.  Datamonitor, Marketline and GlobalDate are publishers of company reports which contain SWOT information. NOT ALL companies provide their SWOT's Datamonitor, Marketline or GlobalData.  In those cases you will need to look for articles about the company you are researching or try one of the other databases listed below.

Business Source Complete

1. Type SWOT Analysis in the first search box.
2. Type Company Name in the second search box, change the "Select a Field" to Co Company Entity, click Search.
3. Review the choices, then click the PDF Full text icon to access the analysis portion of the Datamonitor report.
4. The link to the "Regular" interface is below the image
           Remember when using this resource from off campus you will need to login with your username (NetID) and password.
   
   

NexisUni

1. Click Advanced Search link (just below the big search box).
2. Next, click the Select a specific content type (to the right of Search Everything) a menu opens.
3. Select Mergers & Acquisitions under Company and Financial section.
4. On the Mergers and Acquisitions page, scroll down to the Document Segments/Fields section
5. Enter the company name in the Company Name box.  Click search.
6. To narrow the results use the filters on the left side of the page.
     --  Use the Timeline to narrow by date
     --  Use the Sources to limit the results to Merger & Acquisition information.