It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is a numeric method of classifying/identifying companies by their main line of business for the purpose of monitoring industry performance. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is a 4-digit code in use until the signing of the NAFTA treaty. In 1997 a 6-digit system known as the North American Industrial Classication System (NAICS) replaced the SIC code. Canada and Mexico are included in NAICS system.
Why is this important?
Easy to identify specific companies with in an industry.
Many companies have more than one industry code.
Several print & electronic resources uses these codes for grouping related companies and industries.
Where can I find an industry code?
There are a variety of resources to use to locate an industry code for a specific industry. Tthe resources are listed below are good starting places.
25 years of company financial data on over 10,000 U.S. public companies and 15,000+ non-U.S. public companies. Use the advanced search for industry ratios. PDF files of corporate annual reports are available. Search EDGAR SEC filings also available.
Provides information on U.S. and non-companies including annual reports, financial data, Executive Search, Edgar searching, and Industry Reports. Detailed: U.S. Company Data provides a fully searchable database of 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges. Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items. U.S. Company Archives Data holds the full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward. International Universe provides data on 20,000 non-U.S. companies, while the International Archives provides the latest available financial information on non-U.S. companies that have merged, were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or otherwise disappeared from 1995 forward. Features include: 15 years of detailed financial statements, the ability to customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need, export company reports and financials into software applications such as Microsoft(r) Word, Microsoft(r) Excel or Adobe(r) Acrobat(r) Reader(r), execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables, compare multiple companies' reports, view more than 115,000 images of company annual reports.