Subject and Course Guides: Engineering Sciences: Databases

Main Databases and Index

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Please note that some publications contain reprint articles for which IEEE does not hold copyright.
Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET, successor to the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)). IEEE Xplore contains all of the IEEE and IET publications: Journals, transactions, magazines, conference and colloquia proceedings, and IEEE Standards.
Compendex (Engineering Index) This link opens in a new window
Covers engineering research literature, containing references to citations from global engineering journals and conferences. To access, choose from "Select a database" drop-down list.
Comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to millions of citations from thousands of engineering journals and conferences. Includes global information for technical professionals, researchers and managers in the engineering field.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe.
Abstracts and citations in ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Searches by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation; also for articles that cite an author or work. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and select full-text access to journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). NOTE: Access is limited to selected titles and excludes Conference Proceedings.
The ASME Digital Collection (formerly ASME Digital Library) provides select full-text access to journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). This collection contains some of the most important technical materials related to the fields of mechanical engineering, gas turbines, manufacturing science, solar energy, nanotechnology, biomechanical engineering, fluids engineering, and more. Updated weekly.

NOTE: Excludes Conference Proceedings.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles of journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and its affiliated organizations.
The ACM Digital Library contains full-texts, abstracts, tables of contents, and reviews of journals/transactions, magazines, newsletters, books, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and affiliated organizations published from 1954 to present, with some conference proceedings dating back to 1947. Publications cover a variety of topics related to computing, including software development, computational theory, artificial intelligence, and information science.
INSPEC (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), Inspec covers the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology.