Subject and Course Guides: Mexican American Studies: Home

Recommended Resources

Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. This index support researchers in Latin American studies and includes key words in English, Spanish and Portuguese, allowing searches from these three languages.
Historical Abstracts (Full-Text) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts, and full-text to literature on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.

Center for Mexican American Studies (CMAS) Founded in 1993, CMAS is an academic unit in the College of Liberal Arts at the University of Texas at Arlington.
Center for Greater Southwestern Studies and the History of Cartography The Center fosters interdisciplinary study of the Southwestern region of the United States and Northern Mexico.
Special Collections Located on the 6th floor of the Central Library, Special Collections' holdings comprise a broad range of historical materials relating to Texas, the U.S. War with Mexico (1846-1848), the cartographic history of Texas, the Gulf of Mexico, and Mexico; materials on Mexico from 1810 to 1920, and so much more!
Tejano Voices A collection of oral histories of historically significant Texas politicians and musicians of Hispanic descent.

Coahuila y Tejas, Estados Unidos de Mejico, 1821-1836 - An online resource compiled for faculty at Texas A&M University by the Sons of DeWitt Colony Texas.

A Guide to the United States’ History of Recognition, Diplomatic, and Consular Relations, by Country, since 1776: Mexico
Resources and documents available through the Office of the Historian for the U.S. Secretary of State on U.S. foreign relations with Mexico since 1776.
Immigration and Relocation in U.S. History
An overview of Mexican American history created by the Library of Congress.
Mexican America - Glossary
A glossary of terms created by the National Museum of History, a Smithsonian Institution.
Texas State Historical Association Handbook of Texas
On this page you will find an overview of Mexican American history.

Connecting From Off Campus
This link will take you to information that you can use to access the library's resources from off campus.

Research Process :: Step by Step
by Collin Stephenson Last Updated Oct 18, 2024 67567 views this year

The Writing Center
The Writing Center is located inside the UTA Central Library.