Subject and Course Guides: Mexican American Studies: Background Information

Background Information

Background information is essential to helping us better understand and contextualize material that we might not be too familiar with. Here you will find a list of databases and information that will allow you to gather general information about your topic.

Types of Sources for Locating Information

Research typically involves using a variety of sources:

encyclopedias and dictionaries
books
videos
articles from newspapers, magazines and journals
statistical sources
websites

If you would like assistance with locating resources available through the UTA Libraries, please contact the subject librarian or Ask Us.

Recommended Digital Resources

Oxford Bibliographies - Latino Studies

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive Spanish-language resource offering 49,000 encyclopedia entries, 50,000 images, 2,500 health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and the full text of over 100 hundred reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to Spanish speakers with limited online research experience. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries.