Call Number: Gale Cengage Virtual Reference Library e-book version.
Publication Date: 2007
Compilation of the facts and figures relevant to astronomy and astrophysics. Covers a diverse range of topics in addition to astronomy and astrophysics, including atomic physics, nuclear physics, relativity, plasma physics, electromagnetism, mathematics, probability and statistics, and geophysics.
The GVRL provides a wealth of full-text reference materials in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
Find topics to discuss and research. This current events database covers topics such as politics, social and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics
Find topics to discuss and research in TOPICsearch. This current events database covers topics such as politics, social and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Includes 40,000 documents including selected full-text articles from public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information and nearly 100 U.S. newspapers. Search the database by keyword, subject, topic, or natural language.
An open access e-prints service in the fields of physics, astrophysics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is an open access electronic pre-prints (e-prints) service that provides access to over 350,000 pre-publication scholarly works in physics and related disciplines, including: astrophysics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, computational linguistics, neuroscience, quantitative finance, statistics, and quantitative biology. It is operated and primarily funded by Cornell University. While not traditionally peer reviewed, arXiv.org uses an automated endorsement system: current members of arXiv.org scientific communities endorse new submitters. The database can be searched by keyword, as well as browsed by subject or date. Updated regularly.
SPIE journals and conference proceedings from 1990 to the present. Subjects include optics, photonics (electro-optics), image processing, and nanotechnology.
SPIE (formerly the Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers) proceedings from volume 1200 (except a few not available) and journals from volume 1. More than 268,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.
SciTech Connect makes available over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.
SciTech Connect contains nearly 3 million citations, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. It also has more than 445,000 full-text DOE-funded STI documents.
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world. Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.
Currently, approximately 100 databases and portals from over 70 countries are searchable through WorldWideScience.org. Users get the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment, and basic sciences, including access to scientific and numeric data sources. Much of the information accessed via this gateway is freely available and public domain.
Science Cinema highlights scientific videos featuring leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy. Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, Science Cinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files.
Science Cinema uses innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research to allow users to quickly find video files produced by the Department Of Energy National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise snippets of the video where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timeline. Users can then select a snippet or a segment along the timeline to begin playing the video at the exact point in the video where the words were spoken. Over 3,000 speech-indexed videos are currently available in ScienceCinema, and the database will continue to grow as new R&D-related videos are produced by DOE Laboratories and other research facilities.
A collection of more than 140,000 sample entries of data on inorganic thin-film materials for advanced energy research. The entries offer details about the structural, chemical, and optoelectronic properties of materials, and their synthesis conditions. The HTEM DB contains information about materials obtained from high-throughput experiments at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL).
The Data CAVE provides support and services centering on data-driven research, e-science, and digital humanities data analysis. Services include teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, and data visualization; partnering with researchers in use and visualization of data through charts, infographics, and other tools; publishing datasets in Mavs Dataverse and other repositories; and reviewing data management plans.
A digital collection of UTA theses and dissertations published in Dissertation Abstracts, Master’s Abstracts, and Proquest Digital Dissertations.
A digital collection of UTA theses and dissertations published in Dissertation Abstracts, Master’s Abstracts, and Proquest Digital Dissertations. This database allows searching citations (author, title, advisor, etc.) and abstracts, viewing 24 page previews, and downloading the full text of dissertations and theses included. This is also a gateway site for searching dissertations from other universities published since 1997.
Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.
The Dissertations Abstracts database contains citations for dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts. Titles published from 1997 forward have 24 page previews and are available as full text PDF documents.
OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research.
The program is free for authors and participating institutions with the desired end of making significant open-access content more readily discoverable to end-users within and beyond academic institutions.
An online search tool that provides information and instruction on research methods. It is aimed at university students, researchers, and faculty and is designed to answer methods questions that arise during the various steps of the research process, including the literature search, review, research design, data collection, analysis, and write up.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book”, the "Little Blue Book” series, two major works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.