Subject and Course Guides: Search Strategies for Nursing: 3. Select database(s)

Recommended Databases

Below you will find the most relevant databases that you have access to with your UTA credentials. Read the description to find out what information is contained in the database before selecting it. Some information crosses several disciplines so you may need to search databases not on this list. To find those, click on the subject from this list.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Authoritative resource covering nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts of many titles. Use Chrome, Safari, or Firefox. Incompatible with InternetExplorer.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL), is the authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Material from over 1,600 journals are included in CINAHL; online abstracts are available for more than 1200 of these titles. Publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing are indexed. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 21 million MEDLINE citations and over 3 million additional life science journal article citations.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe.
Abstracts and citations in ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Searches by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation; also for articles that cite an author or work. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching.
JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) EBP Resources on Ovid This link opens in a new window
JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) EBP (Evidence-Based Practice) Resources on Ovid features content and tools supporting evidence-based practice from JBI's global network of Collaborating Centers. Access includes JBI PACES and JBI SUMARI.
JBI is summarized research in a format that is easy to locate,understand and distribute. Extensive tools are designed to help EBP policy and practice manual development based on the best available evidence, with additional resources designed to help assess the quality of research.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Provides high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving health care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration of health care at all levels
The Cochrane Library is an electronic publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving health care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration of health care at all levels. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Provides full text articles on current and retrospective issues in psychology from over 60 journals published by the American Psychological Association and from allied organizations.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
This database is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
The American Psychological Association's abstracts of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Indexing and abstracting of articles from nearly 10,000 journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Links to full text in the PsycARTICLES database as well as other full-text EBSCOhost databases.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Provides full text for 550 peer-reviewed journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
rovides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO. Nearly all full text publications included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. The majority of full text titles in this database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.