An Introduction to Spanish-American Literature
This is a revised, updated edition of Jean Franco's classic Introduction to Spanish-American Literature, first published in 1969 and much recommended ever since. Its coverage ranges from colonial times to the present day, the later chapters having been radically rewritten to take account of the most recent developments in both literature and criticism. The book sets the literary works discussed in their historical, political and economic context, and explores the impact on Latin-American literature of European cultural traditions. English translations are provided for Spanish quotations in the text, and the extensively updated reading lists of primary and secondary material refer not only to Spanish texts but also, where available, to editions in English.
Latin America, 1800-2000
Written in an accessible style and assuming no prior knowledge, the books in this series address the specific needs of students on language courses. Approaching the study of history from an interest in contemporary politics and society, each book offers a clear historical narrative and sets its country into the context of the wider world. Although largely sharing a common past and language, the countries in Latin America remain distinct entities with their own identities. 'Latin America 1800 - 2000' provides a continental-based historical narrative which stresses the common themes between countires from Central America to the Southern Cone, while at the same time highlighting their specific national contexts. This book focuses on key events such as the Mexican-American War, the Cuban Revolution, and the overthrow of Salvador Allende's government, as well as providing short inserts on the main political protaganists such as Simon Bolivar, Getulio Vargas and the Subcomandante Marcos. At the same time, the book discusses Latin America's cultural diversity, paying particular attention to the response of writers and film makers to the historical contexts covered in the book. A range of pedagogical devices and a lively prose style ensure that the book is tailor-made to the requirements of undergraduates in Hispanic Studies. The book also includes: * a chronology of main events * glossary-style inserts * topics for discussion * a selection of original documents
A Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture
A Companion to Latin American Literature and Culturereflects the changes that have taken place in cultural theory andliterary criticism since the latter part of the twentieth century. Written by more than thirty experts in cultural theory, literaryhistory, and literary criticism, this authoritative and up-to-datereference places major authors in the complex cultural andhistorical contexts that have compelled their distinctive fiction,essays, and poetry. This allows the reader to more accuratelyinterpret the esteemed but demanding literature of authors such asJorge Luis Borges, Mario Vargas Llosa, Octavio Paz, and DiamelaEltit. Key authors whose work has defined a period, or defiedborders, as in the cases of Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz,César Vallejo, and Gabriel García Márquez, are alsodiscussed in historical and theoretical context. Additional essaysengage the reader with in-depth discussions of forms and genres,and discussions of architecture, music, and film. This text provides the historical background to help the readerunderstand the people and culture that have defined Latin Americanliterature and its reception. Each chapter also includes shortselected bibliographic guides and recommendations for furtherreading.
Reading and Writing the Latin American Landscape
Spanning the whole of Latin America, including Brazil, from its beginnings in 1492 up to the present time, Rivera-Barnes and Hoeg analyze the relationship between literature and the environment in both literary and testimonial texts, asking questions that contribute to the on-going dialogue between the arts and the sciences.
A Cultural History of Latin America
The Cambridge History of Latin America is a large scale, collaborative, multi-volume history of Latin America during the five centuries from the first contacts between Europeans and the native peoples of the Americas in the late fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries to the present. A Cultural History of Latin America brings together chapters from Volumes III, IV, and X of The Cambridge History on literature, music, and the visual arts in Latin America during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The essays explore: literature, music, and art from c. 1820 to 1870 and from 1870 to c. 1920; Latin American fiction from the regionalist novel between the Wars to the post-War New Novel, from the 'Boom' to the 'Post-Boom'; twentieth-century Latin American poetry; indigenous literatures and culture in the twentieth century; twentieth-century Latin American music; architecture and art in twentieth-century Latin America, and the history of cinema in Latin America. Each chapter is accompanied by a bibliographical essay.
A Yavapai College student explains the benefits of using library databases for research over searching the web.
Presents manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women’s rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. The database features over 250,000 pages of manuscript content, over 100 newspaper titles, and over 400 books. The collection draws its content from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project” that seeks to gather lost or rare documents and publications pertinent to Hispanic history and culture. Formerly called Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2.
The essential database for identifying scholarly and critical studies of literature and folklore around the world and from all time periods. It includes related fields, such as linguistics, film, and popular culture.
Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information.
A multidisciplinary, full-text database of over 650 scholarly journals and books in Spanish, Portuguese, or English from Latin American, Spain, and Portugal.
Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.
Focused on the nature and use of language. Covers research in linguistics; research in language; and research in speech, language and hearing pathology
The International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB), established in 1967, is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages.
Provides access to a vast collection on U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture, from colonial times to 1960. Content is in Spanish or English with indexing and searching available in both languages.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries.
The ARTstor website content has been migrated to the JSTOR platform, as the ARTstor website retired on August 1, 2024.
A digital library of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures.
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
© 2016-23 The University of Texas at Arlington.
University of Texas Arlington Libraries
702 Planetarium Place · Arlington, TX 76019 · 817-272-3000