Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural literature, from prehistory to present. NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive source for U.S. and Canadian history and culture, from prehistoric times to the present. The database contains indexing, abstracts, and full-text for over 1,700 journals as well as books, book reviews, theses/dissertations, and film project reviews. A strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including English abstracts of articles published in more than 40 languages. This database is an excellent bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of American history, Canadian history, popular culture, American studies, literature/folklore, genealogy, women's studies/gender studies, multicultural studies, anthropology, sociology, and the history of science. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. Updated regularly.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
Contains citations, abstracts, and full-text to literature on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.
The Dissertations Abstracts database contains citations for dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts. Titles published from 1997 forward have 24 page previews and are available as full text PDF documents.
This newspaper archive is a unique image collection that is accessible by keyword and date searching
A unique digital image collection that is accessible by keyword and date searching. It documents major events in Texas, the United States, and the world. Classified and display advertising, photos and graphics are included.
Content migrated from Accessible Archives, which is still accessible until a redirection to History Commons begins on Sept. 1, 2024.
A collection of primary sources, including magazines, newspapers, videos, letters, diaries, images, and ephemera on American history.
Chicago Defender is a newspaper which tracks the advancement of blacks in America.
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. A full-image is provided for the newspaper, Chicago Defender. It also includes an archive of the following titles: Chicago Daily Defender (Big Weekend Edition) (1966-1973); Chicago Daily Defender (Daily Edition) (1960-1973); The Chicago Defender (Big Weekend Edition) (1905-1966); Chicago Defender (Big Weekend Edition) (1973-1980); Chicago Defender (Daily Edition) (1973-2010); The Chicago Defender (National edition) (1921-1967); Daily Defender (Daily Edition) (1956-1960); and the Weekend Chicago Defender (1980-2008).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2019) Historical Papers: The New York Times (1851-2019) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue
ProQuest Historical Newspapers---The New York Times is a full-image archive that brings the entire historical run of The New York Times, the definitive voice of American journalism since 1851.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2002): In 1889, Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal (formerly known as the Customers' Afternoon Letter) as a markets-focused newspaper for the country's then-fewer than 200,000 shareholders. Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, consumer affairs, and trends and issues. Online researchers have access to more than 100 years of The Journal's accurate reporting, exclusive analysis, agenda setting, editorials, and controversial opinions. In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication. With this resource, users can study the development of industries and companies across decades, monitor the implementation and effects of fiscal policies on the global economy, study opposing viewpoints at critical times in the world's history, and more. This title is especially appealing to those interested in business, finance, economics, and journalism.
A collection of digitized maps that provide detailed property and land-use records that depict the architecture of Texas towns and cities throughout the past one hundred years
Collection features large-scale maps of 436 Texas towns and cities. These maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, planners, and environmentalists. The scale for these maps is 50 feet to an inch.
The culmination of more than 10 years of organizing and collecting materials, the African American Historical Serials Collection is a centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials originating from various institutions and sources—including some that had not
previously participated in preservation projects.
Now compiled and accessible to researchers in one digital collection, this unique resource documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. This content is not available for acquisition in digital form from any source other than EBSCO Publishing, and keyword searching is available on all titles.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections exists as a series of five databases created from a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1876. These databases include 6,500 titles featuring more than 10 million pages of content from the seventeenth century through the late nineteenth century. The collection also contains titles in more than
two dozen languages including French, German, Norwegian, Spanish, and more.
This full-text work in progress documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850
This full-text work in progress documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. It focuses on personal accounts of traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials. Source materials include narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
This digital collection contains primary works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 offers full-text access to more than 29,000 titles about the Americas including accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, Native Americans, etc. Primary sources include books, pamphlets, serials, broadsides, and other historical documentation that describe the society, politics, religious beliefs, customs, and momentous events that characterized life in the Americas.
For scholars and students researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics.
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 contains diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Spanning 1960 to 1974, The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today's debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women's Movement.
Provides access to hundreds of journals covering literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, and the social sciences from the late 17th century to the early 20th century.
British Periodicals Collection I and II trace the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the 17th century through to the Victorian "age of periodicals" and beyond. British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Topics covered in Collection I include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, and the social sciences. British Periodicals Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles, amounting to almost 3 million pages. Topics covered in Collection II include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture. Together containing more than six million keyword-searchable pages, these two collections form an unrivaled resource beneficial to researchers interested in British history, literature, philosophy, science, fine arts, social sciences, humanities, and numerous other fields.
A collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights
A collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The collection consists of 265 periodicals and 4471 monographs from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. The ASCII text is searchable by keyword and Boolean operators, and records are linked to the corresponding full-text page images.
An online collection of English-language titles and editions published in the U.K. and the Americas between 1701 and 1800
An online collection of English and foreign language books, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera published in the U.K. and the Americas. Content is presented as full text page images which can be viewed online or downloaded as PDF documents. When completed there will be more than 33 million pages of material. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, in addition to those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide. The seven subject-specific areas of study are History and Geography; Social Sciences and Fine Arts; Medicine, Science, and Technology; Literature and Language; Religion and Philosophy; Law; and Reference.
Contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866
Contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections. The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.
