Subject and Course Guides: Gender, Women, &amp; Sexuality Studies: Find Resources

Background Information

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.

Research Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
LGBTQ+ Life is an indexing and abstracting resource covering world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes links to some full text resources.
LGBTQ+ Life is a focused resource covering world literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. The database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 180 LGBT-specific core periodicals and more than 310 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. It includes current coverage of these sources, as well as deep backfiles for key publications - many back to the first published issue. Examples of publications indexed back to their inaugural issues include The Advocate (1967), Journal of Homosexuality (1974) and Harvard Gay and Lesbian Review (1994). It also contains articles mined from more than 40 priority periodicals as well as more than 6,500 select titles. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications, including Journal of Bisexuality, Gay Times,Lesbian News, Journal of Lesbian Studies, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, Journal of Gender Studies, NWSA Journal, Women's Studies, etc.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
There are over 17,000 records in the database currently, and more than five hundred records are added every four months. We index the most current year for which full journal volumes are available along with backlog years, and we are now working both on 2005-2006 and on the remaining publications from 1990 through 2004.

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
A collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights
A collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The collection consists of 265 periodicals and 4471 monographs from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. The ASCII text is searchable by keyword and Boolean operators, and records are linked to the corresponding full-text page images.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
This database includes diaries, journals, and letters written by women visiting or living in North America between the years 1700 and 1950.
This work in progress, when completed, will be the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled and include the personal experiences of 1,500 women from all social classes.
Women & Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Brings together books, images, primary sources, biographical information and statistics for in-depth access to research on women's studies.
This database is a repository of primary and secondary documents in the field of U.S. Women's History. Included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. Women's History, advertisements, book chapters, diaries, images, legal documents, letters, organizational notes, transcripts of speeches, along with scholarly interpretations.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Latin American Women Writers is a searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
In addition to prose, poetry, and drama by women writers in Latin America, this collection includes essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries. This is a work in progress that will contain 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays along with 300 plays when complete.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.
The Dissertations Abstracts database contains citations for dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts. Titles published from 1997 forward have 24 page previews and are available as full text PDF documents.

All Subject Specific Databases

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 9169 views this year

Citation Linker

Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.