Subject and Course Guides: French Literature and Culture: 800 CE to Present: Articles

Databases -- Start Here

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The essential database for identifying scholarly and critical studies of literature and folklore around the world and from all time periods. It includes related fields, such as linguistics, film, and popular culture.
Provides access to citations from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts in addition to the historical aspects of printing and publishing. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information.
You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Project Muse offers full text articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from quality journal titles provided by scholarly publishers. This database covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Browse the list of available journals and view tables of contents.
Historical Abstracts (Full-Text) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts, and full-text to literature on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.

Specialized Databases

ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of French Language) This link opens in a new window
Contains classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of French Language) provides access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. It consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondences, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. A number of Provencal texts have been added in their original spellings. In addition to the main ARTFL database, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, access is provided to the following subscription databases: French Women Writers; Provençal Poetry; Textes de Français Ancien (TFA); Journal de Trévoux; Dictionnaire historique et critique; Le Grand dictionnaire historique; and Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor website content has been migrated to the JSTOR platform, as the ARTstor website retired on August 1, 2024.
A digital library of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures.
ARTstor is a nonprofit, digital library comprised of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. The database encompasses artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It is designed to be used by art historians, as well as researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images. The database can be searched by keyword, or, through the advanced search, by creator, title, location, repository, subject, material, style or period, work type, culture, description, technique, and/or number. A suite of software tools also allow users to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Updated regularly.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
A super-index to nineteenth century books, periodical, official documents, newspapers and archives.
C19: The Nineteenth Century is a source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. It's a super-index to more than 16 million documents that includes the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, and the British Periodicals. It links to other 19th century full-text sources in the UTA Library's collection such as American Periodical Series Online, Periodicals Archive Online and Palmer's Full-Text Online.
International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB) This link opens in a new window
The International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB), established in 1967, is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages.
The International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB), established in 1967, is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages. It indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. It covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Discipline areas to which it is relevant: Archaeology, Art History, Classics, English Literature, French Language and Literature, History, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, and Philosophy.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse that covers the fields most important figures, schools and movements.
A comprehensive resource of literary theory and discourse that covers the fields most important figures, schools and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It is updated annually.

Essential Journals

Publications of the Modern Language Association of America
PMLA is the journal of the Modern Language Association of America. Since 1884, PMLA has published members' essays judged to be of interest to scholars and teachers of language and literature. Four issues each year (January, March, May, and October)
more...less...
present essays on language and literature; a Directory issue (September) contains a listing of the association's members, a directory of departmental administrators, and other professional information; and the November issue is the program for the association's annual convention—PMLA
The French Review
"The French Review publishes articles and reviews in English and French on French and Francophone literature and culture. In May, a special issue is devoted to such topics as Martinique and Guadeloupe, Québec, Francophone cinema, Belgium, Francophonie in the United States, France-Algeria, Pedagogy, etc. Every issue includes a column by Colette Dio entitled 'La Vie des mots,' an exploration of new developments in the French language."
French Studies
"The journal publishes articles and reviews spanning all areas of the subject, including language and linguistics (historical and contemporary), all periods and aspects of literature in France and the French-speaking world, thought and the history of ideas, cultural studies, film, and critical theory."
French History
"Provides a broad perspective on contemporary debates from an international range of scholars, and covers the entire chronological range of French history from the early Middle Ages to the twentieth century. French History includes articles covering a wide range of enquiry across the arts and social sciences, as well as across historical periods . . . ."
French historical studies
publishes articles and commentaries on all periods of French history from the Middle Ages to the present. The journal’s diverse format includes forums, review essays, special issues, and articles in French, as well as bilingual abstracts of the articles in each issue.
Yale French studies
"A collection of essays on things French." Available from 1948 until 2007 in JSTOR.

French Literature and Culture: 800 CE to Present

Evaluating Sources

Databases -- Start Here

Specialized Databases

Essential Journals

Reference Look Up