Subject and Course Guides: Criminology & Criminal Justice: Data and Statistics

National & State Data

National Crime Victimization Survey
The BJS National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 240,000 persons in about 150,000 households. Persons are interviewed on the frequency, characteristics, and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States.
FBI Crime Data Explorer
Crime data for the nation are derived from Summary Reporting System (SRS) and National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) reports voluntarily submitted to the FBI.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
NACJD hosts several large-scale datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data
Texas State Law Library
Provides access to a wide variety of information including eBook and databases, historical statutes, current legislation, court rulings and records, and continuing education opportunities.

City Crime Statistics

City of Arlington Police Department Public Reports
In an effort to strengthen public trust and transparency, the Arlington Police Department publishes multiple reports each year where community members can learn more about the department, crime in the city, and our efforts to keep our community safe.
City of Arlington Crime Search
Search for crime reports down to the neighborhood level. Most reports are available in Police Records 72 hours after the reports are taken.
Advancing 21st Century Policing
CNA developed this toolkit to help law enforcement agencies across the nation to share information about promising programs. This interactive presentation includes links to resources from the COPS Office Precision Policing Initiative (PPI) and other collaborative efforts to provide safer neighborhoods by leveraging partnerships, analysis, research and technology. The goal of this toolkit is to help police identify and implement similar activities that will benefit their own agencies.
NIBRS Information
City crime reports use the same standards as national reports. This website outlines, the FBI’s National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) which has become the national standard for law enforcement crime data reporting in the United States.

Campus Crime Statistics

UTA Police Department Public Information
Crime reports and statistics gathered and reported by the UTA Police Department.
CLERY Handbook (2016)
The most current Handbook for Campus Safety and Security Reporting. This document describes how crime statistics should be reported on college campuses.
The Clery Center
Website that gives background information on the origin and intended impact of the Jeanne Clery Act which requires colleges and universities to report campus crime data, support victims of violence, and publicly outline the policies and procedures they have put into place to improve campus safety.

Data Tools

Try a scoped Google search to find statistical information on governmental website.

Exp. homelessness statistics site:gov

UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab
The UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab (DFRL) is a hub of research support at UTA Libraries. The DFRL supports and partners with researchers through all aspects of the research cycle, from literature reviews to data management plans to digital dissemination. Support includes teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, data visualization, publishing datasets in Mav Matrix and other repositories, reviewing data management plans, and leveraging metrics such as bibliometric and altmetrics to measure research impact.
Tableau Public
A free platform to explore, create, and publicly share data visualizations online. The full paid version of Tableau with more features is available to UTA students and staff via the DataCAVE.

SimplyAnalytics
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information here for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure). Details to establish the full-tunnel connection can be found here.
A mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census back to 1980, and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), 2020 election data, and D&B's points-of-interest business file providing detailed information on over 5 million businesses. Additionally, users have access to the premium MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset with data on over 8,000 brands, psychographics, social media habits, daily activities, life events, and MOSAIC market segments. Users also have access to the CDC PLACES health dataset that includes 27 diverse health measures, such as Health Outcomes, Prevention, Risk Behaviors, and Health Status while the Community Lifestages dataset presents data based on Householder Age, Household Income and Household Family Status.. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created. Users may log in as a Guest, or create an account to save their work.
Works best with Firefox or Safari. There are known compatibility issues with Chrome when accessing off-campus or through campus WiFi.
Please note only five simultaneous users are allowed.

SimplyAnalytics (was SimplyMap) provides users the most current demographic, business, and marketing data available. It provides the following nation-wide data: Demographic Variables: Population, Age, Race, Income, Ancestry, Marital Status, Housing, Employment, Transportation, Families, and more. Historical census data: including 1980, 1990 & 2000, plus current year census estimates and 5 year projections. Business Variables: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments. Life Stage Clusters are a neighborhood classification system based on the crucial factors (84 Possible Life Stages based upon: Age of Head of Households; Marital Status; and Household Income) that determine life's key decisions. EASI/Mediamark Research Inc. (MRI) Propensity Data: Produces current estimates of usage and consumption (propensity) for thousands of very specific and detailed products, including actual brand data, details of frequency of usage, and more; annually prepares estimates for about 3,000+ MRI categories of propensities using updated demographic estimates; and Propensity Data incorporates the following data: Automotive, Beverages, Sports, Ailments/Remedies, Apparel, Appliances, Attitudes/Lifestyles, Baby, Computers, Electronics, Family Restaurants, and Fast Food, Financial, Grocery, Insurance, Internet, Leisure, Media, Personal Care, Pets, Purchasing, Telephony, Travel. Health: Answers to frequently asked questions about disease, health status, doctor visits and more; Health Questions Age 18+ & under 18; and Death Causes Since there is some training required in order to understand a few concepts related to mapping, we highly recommend that you watch our 6 minute tutorial to get the most out of SimplyAnalytics. The tutorial can be accessed by clicking on the "Tutorial" link in the top right corner of SimplyAnalytics.

NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.