Subject and Course Guides: Transatlantic History: African Diaspora

Databases

Historical Abstracts (Full-Text) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts, and full-text to literature on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Project Muse offers full text articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from quality journal titles provided by scholarly publishers. This database covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Browse the list of available journals and view tables of contents.

Although none of these databases is dedicated solely to African American literature materials, they all should have a wide selection. The Caribbean/Latin databases will focus more on Afro-Caribbean literature in Spanish, French, or Creole languages. JSTOR, MLA, and Project Muse will be more U.S.-centric, and the Literature Resource Center is a great source for biographical or other types of encyclopedic information.

Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature covers poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish from Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Latino Literature covers poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish from Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. Almost a third of the database is made up of previously unpublished or rare materials. Also included are supplementary resources, such as playbills and performance material, poetry readings, book presentation flyers, book covers, and photographs
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Latin American Women Writers is a searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
In addition to prose, poetry, and drama by women writers in Latin America, this collection includes essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries. This is a work in progress that will contain 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays along with 300 plays when complete.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The essential database for identifying scholarly and critical studies of literature and folklore around the world and from all time periods. It includes related fields, such as linguistics, film, and popular culture.
Provides access to citations from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts in addition to the historical aspects of printing and publishing. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Project Muse offers full text articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from quality journal titles provided by scholarly publishers. This database covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Browse the list of available journals and view tables of contents.

The Black Atlantic Resource
Welcome to the Black Atlantic interactive web resource, a site constructed on the occasion of Tate Liverpool’s exhibition "Afro Modern: Journeys through the Black Atlantic".
more...less...
The model of study which the Black Atlantic Resource seeks to promote was inspired by Paul Gilroy’s seminal book The Black Atlantic: Modernity and Double Consciousness
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database is the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world.
more...less...
The Voyages website itself is the product of two years of development by a multi-disciplinary team of historians, librarians, curriculum specialists, cartographers, computer programmers, and web designers, in consultation with scholars of the slave trade from universities in Europe, Africa, South America, and North America. The National Endowment for the Humanities is the principal sponsor of the project, and it is an Emory University Digital Library Research Initiative.
The Medford Slave Trade Letters -- 1759-1765
The "Medford Slave Letters" as we have called them are a series of letters spanning between the January of 1759 and October of 1765.
more...less...
A six-year correspondence between Timothy Fitch, a Medford resident, and an employee of Fitch named Peter Gwinn. The letters are thus a direct and local link to the trafficking and sale of human beings from Africa. A gift from the Hall family of Medford, Massachusetts, the letters are housed at the Medford Historical Society and have been preserved and maintained.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
This site focuses on the thirteen defining migrations that formed and transformed African America.
more...less...
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Day of Remembrance of the Victims of Slavery and the Transatlantic Slave Trade
International Day of Remembrance of the Victims
of Slavery and the Transatlantic Slave Trade
25 March

Books

Summon
Summon is a discovery tool that searches across the majority of Libraries resources, including the catalog of books and other items physically held in UTA Libraraies, journal and newspaper articles, conference papers and ebooks held in databases, and much more. Summon searches across this range of resources using a single Google-like search.
Google Books
Browse books online; If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy

Help: Find Articles

Video Tutorial: Peer Review Explained