Martin, Robert Sidney and James C. Martin. Contours of Discovery: Printed Maps Delineating the Texas and Southwestern Chapters in the Cartographic History of North America. Austin: Texas State Historical Association, 1981-82. [22 map facsimiles].
Reinhartz, Dennis. "Teaching History with Maps: A Graphic Dimension." In Walter Prescott Webb and the Teaching of History, edited by Dennis Reinhartz and Stephen E. Maizlish. College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 1985.
Rosenberg Library. Cartographic Sources in the Rosenberg Library. Compiled by Henry G. Taliaferro; edited by Jane A. Kenamore and Uli Haller. College Station: Published for the Rosenberg Library by the Texas A&M University Press, 1988.
The A. E. Nordenskiold Collection in the Helsinki University Library: Annotated Catalogue of Maps Made up to 1800. 5 vol. Atlas. Compiled by Ann-marie Michwitz and Leena Milkkavaara. [Stockholm]: Helsinki University Library, 1979
A Book of Old Maps Delineating American History from the Earliest Days Down to the Close of the Revolutionary War. Compiled and edited by Emerson E. Fite and Archibald Freeman. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1926.
The Compleat Plattmaker: Essays on Chart, Map, and Globe Making in England in the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries. Edited by Norman J. Thrower. Berkeley, Los Angeles, London: University of California Press, 1978.
Exploration and Mapping of the American West: Selected Essays. Occasional Paper No. 1. Map and Geography Round Table of the American Library Association. Edited by D. P. Koepp. Chicago: Speculum Orbis Press, 1986
Friis, Herman R. "Highlights in the First 100 Years of Surveying & Mapping and Geographical Exploration of the United States by the Federal Government 1775-1880." Surveying and Mapping 18(1958):185-206.
The History of Cartography. Edited by J. B. Harley and David Woodward. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987- . [Series currently includes publications on cartography of prehistory, ancient, medieval Europe and Mediterranean, traditional Islamic and South Asian societies, traditional East and Southeast Asian societies, and traditional African, American, Arctic, Australian and Pacific societies.]
ACTA Cartographica. Amsterdam: Theatrum Obis Terrarum, Ltd., 1967—.
This journal presents a series of monographs and studies on the history of cartography from periodicals published since 1800. Although an editorial policy dictates a balance of English, German and French language articles, in practice, there is a heavy reliance on German language works with a focus on European concerns and interests.
The Compass Rose. Arlington: Special Collections Division, UTA Libraries, 1988--. The division’s newsletter is published twice yearly and, frequently, includes articles focusing on the Virginia Garrett Cartographic History Library. Past issues have reported on significant donations and holdings, and include historical descriptions and illustrations.
Great Plains Journal, vol. 4, no. 1(winter 1984). Lincoln: University of Nebraska-Lincoln, The Center for Great Plains Studies.
While not normally a journal of interest to cartographic historians, this particular issue contains the first four of twelve planned monographs from papers presented at a symposium on "Mapping the North American Plains" held in April 1983, at the Center for Great Plains Studies at the University of Nebraska—Lincoln. The stated purpose of the symposia was the "regional focus to get at the thought behind the maps and discover the image presented to those in the first half of the 19th century." The area under study was the vast region between the Mississippi River and the Rocky Mountains.
Imago Mundi. Amsterdam: Nico Israel, 1974—.
This journal of the International Society for the History of Cartography published monographs and shorter articles of interest to cartographic historians. As with other cartographic journals, the articles are of interest to historians, librarians, collectors and traders. Generally, European in perspective.
The Map Collector. London: The Map Collector, 1977-1996.
This quarterly journal was published in response to the growing interest in old maps. Originated in 1977 by the late Ronald Vere Tooley, the magazine’s stated purpose was to cater to the specialist, the librarian, private collector and trade dealer. It includes "monographs and articles of general interest, lists of sale prices, atlas collations, maps for sale and wanted, reminiscences, reviews and records of contemporary and coming events relating to maps." The quarterly has proved to be a valuable work of reference as well as for historical content.
Map Line. Chicago: The Hermon Dunlop Smith Center for the History of Cartography at the Newberry Library, 1972—.
A quarterly journal that includes articles relating to cartography, a discussion or study of a particular map or mapmaker along with notes on meetings and conferences, reports on new acquisitions of the Newberry, recent publications in the cartographic field, as well as miscellaneous information of interest to the members of the association.
Mercator’s World: The Magazine of Maps, Atlases, Globes and Charts. Eugene, Oregon: Aster Publishing Corp., 1996-
A bimonthly magazine similar to The Map Collector. Articles are directed at a more general audience than the scholarly Map Collector with diverse stories accompanied by many colorful illustrations. Issues also include departments specializing in auction reports, book reviews, calendar of events and meetings, and two sections labeled "Aficionado and "Multimedia." These departments focus on individuals with cartographic interests, and stories revealing the latest technological advancement in cartography.
Meridian: A Journal of the Map and Geography Round Table of the American Library Association. [United States: The Round Table,
The publication contains articles that advance the organization and disseminate cartographic and geographic information. It also is dedicated to documenting the changing trends and issues in cartographic and geographic librarianship. The publication includes articles focusing on various historical aspects of cartography and geography of general interest.