Engineering Sciences: Bioengineering

Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET, successor to the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)). IEEE Xplore contains all of the IEEE and IET publications: Journals, transactions, magazines, conference and colloquia proceedings, and IEEE Standards.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.

Compendex (formerly Engineering Index) is the broadest and most complete engineering literature index in the world, with over 20 million records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. Inspec, created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), is one of the world's most definitive bibliographic indexes, containing over 15 million records in the areas of physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, mechanical, production engineering and information technology. Engineering Village allows you to search both of these exhaustive databases simultaneously.

Access to information contained in the CAS and MEDLINE databases from more than 9500 journals. Some are full text. Besides journals, other sources include patents (some full text as far back as 1900 available), books, reviews, meeting abstracts, dissertations, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Subject areas covered: genomics, proteomics, biotechnology, agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science, packaging, petroleum products and many others. Unique to SciFinder-n is the capability to access millions of different specific chemical substances, including organic compounds, coordination compounds, polymers, biosequences, and alloys. From these records access to structure diagrams, names and molecular formulas are included. Access to millions of single and multistep reactions from journals, 1840 to the present are also available. Chemical source information, including supplier addresses and pricing information, for millions of products is available from hundreds of chemical catalogs. Further technical details are available in the SciFinder-n FAQ and theCAS Java download page. The SciFinder Scholar desktop applications method (client) is no longer available.