Subject and Course Guides: Landscape Architecture: Plant Identification

Plant Identification Web Resources

BONAP's Taxonomic Data Center
The Biota of North America Program maintains a searchable database of vascular flora. It is searchable by family, genera or species. Geographic search terms are available and detailed down to county and zip code.
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center maintains a Native Plants Database for North America that includes more than 25000 species. Search options include habit, lifespan, light requirements, soul moisture, and bloom and leaf characteristics. Geographic search is at the state level.
Missouri Boranical Garden Plant Finder
Has extensive descriptions of plants and advanced search features including wildlife attraction, maintenance level, uses and other features. Geographic search is by zone and native information is available only for Missouri.
USDA PLANTS
The USDA's Plant List of Attributes, Names, Taxonomy and Symbols provides information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts and lichens of the United States.
more...less...
This is a work in progress, but already has robust search and filter features. Geographic search features are at the state or regional level. There is partial information on invasive and noxious species as well as native plants.

Agricultural and Planting Information

AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations for materials within the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) National Agricultural Library. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines. Some links to full-text documents.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of materials held in the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) National Agricultural Library. It contains more than 4.8 million citations for journal articles, books and book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. It covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, earth sciences, and environmental sciences. Many recent records are linked to online full-text documents. Updated daily

Access the USDA National Agricultural Library directly.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for life science literature.
Biological Abstracts is one of the foremost indexes on life science journal literature. The database indexes over 4,000 international journals and contains over 14 million archival records from as far back as 1926, with more than 370,000 citations added each year related to vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Subjects covered includes: agriculture, anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, biomedicine, bioengineering, biotechnology, botany, ecology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology. Updated regularly.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of a growing body of knowledge. Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields. In addition, more than 30 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on a variety of agriculture-related topics.