Subject and Course Guides: Athletic Training: Finding Articles

Source: Clickable EBP Pyramid.

Introduction to MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) - UIC Library

Other Resources

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides reliable evidence-based information on natural ingredients, commercial products, and alternative therapies.
This resource is considered to be the "Gold-Standard" when it comes to evidence-based, reliable information on natural ingredients, commercial products, and alternative therapies. It has more listings (55,000+) and more monographs (1,200+) than any other resource of its kind. The website is updated daily and allows you to quickly look up: effectiveness ratings, safety ratings, adverse reactions, brand name products and their ingredients, journal abstracts, USP Verified products, patient handouts, and much more.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Provides high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving health care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration of health care at all levels
The Cochrane Library is an electronic publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving health care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration of health care at all levels. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.

Sport Science Institute Publications
The page is devoted to important and timely documents developed by the NCAA Sport Science Institute in partnership with leading medical sports medicine organizations, experts and member schools. Includes the following: Athletics Health Care Administrator Handbook, Sports Medicine Handbook and others.

Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 21 million MEDLINE citations and over 3 million additional life science journal article citations.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.

PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro is a free database of over 30,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A major resource for indexing and full text for sports, fitness & sports medicine journals and other literature
SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is a comprehensive, international database covering sport, fitness and sports medicine literature. The database is derived from periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and other sources. It covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education, and other sport and fitness related topics. Includes several specialized databases such as the French sports database Heracles, the SIRLS database, and the Sport History Project. Abstracts are provided for recent research articles. Provides full text for over 450 journals and magazines.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource covering nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts of many titles. Use Chrome, Safari, or Firefox. Incompatible with InternetExplorer.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL), is the authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Material from over 1,600 journals are included in CINAHL; online abstracts are available for more than 1200 of these titles. Publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing are indexed. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.

OTseeker
Contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability.