Subject and Course Guides: Advertising: Home

What is advertising?
Advertising & Society Review Supplement Unit 1

What is advertising?

"... if the circus is coming to town and you paint a sign saying 'Circus Coming to the Fairground Saturday', that's advertising. If you put the sign on the back of an elephant and walk it into town, that's promotion. If the elephant walks through the mayor's flower bed, that's publicity. And if you get the mayor to laugh about it, that's public relations. If the town's citizens go to the circus, you show them the many entertainment booths, explain how much fun they'll have spending money at the booths, answer their questions, and ultimately, they spend a lot at the circus, that's sales." - Promoting Issues and Ideas" by M. Booth and Associates, Inc.

Databases

WARC This link opens in a new window
Warc provides intelligence solutions for students, faculty and staff in marketing, advertising and mass communications.
WARC includes over 6,000 global case studies, and articles, opinion pieces and conference reports. It also contains comprehensive historic and forecast advertising expenditure data together with global media cost data.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMCC) covers areas related to communication and mass media.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMCC) covers areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Along with indexing and abstracting of communication content, CMMC includes full text for over 450 journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor website content has been migrated to the JSTOR platform, as the ARTstor website retired on August 1, 2024.
A digital library of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures.
ARTstor is a nonprofit, digital library comprised of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. The database encompasses artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It is designed to be used by art historians, as well as researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images. The database can be searched by keyword, or, through the advanced search, by creator, title, location, repository, subject, material, style or period, work type, culture, description, technique, and/or number. A suite of software tools also allow users to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Updated regularly.

ADWEEK

Related Guides

Company & Industry
by Janet Burka Last Updated Sep 18, 2024 3691 views this year

Communication Studies
by Ryan Hedrick Last Updated Oct 18, 2024 859 views this year

Marketing & Marketing Research
by Samantha Streeter Last Updated Sep 3, 2024 800 views this year