Subject and Course Guides: SOCW 5395 Integrative Seminar: Intervention & Evaluation

Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
The American Psychological Association's abstracts of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Indexing and abstracting of articles from nearly 10,000 journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Links to full text in the PsycARTICLES database as well as other full-text EBSCOhost databases.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the fields of social work, social services, social welfare, social policy, and human services. NOTE: Only 8 simultaneous users allowed.
Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work, social services, social welfare, social policy, and human services. It includes abstracts of articles and dissertations. All areas of social work are covered, including theory and practice, many areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Social Work Abstracts is produced by the National Association of Social Workers.

NOTE: Only 8 simultaneous users allowed.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of literature on topics related to "social gerontology", or the study of aging within the psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Provides links to full-text documents.
AgeLine is a database that focuses on the population aged 50 and over and issues of aging. It provides indexing and abstracts for over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports related to "social gerontology", or the study of aging within the psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Most records contain links to the full-text documents. This database is designed to be of interest to researchers, health professionals, policymakers, employers, and older adults and their families. Coverage is from 1978 to present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource covering nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts of many titles. Use Chrome, Safari, or Firefox. Incompatible with InternetExplorer.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL), is the authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Material from over 1,600 journals are included in CINAHL; online abstracts are available for more than 1200 of these titles. Publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing are indexed. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides references to a broad range of educational topics. Includes articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, reports and standards
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides extensive access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals previously included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, theses, audiovisual media, directories, monographs and government documents.

Assessing Interventions with Tests & Measures

Authors sometimes make their instruments accessible to others. When shared, they are often appended to journal articles and dissertations, but they might also be found in books and on web sites.

There are two primaries ways to search for these measures & tests using UTA Libraries resources. The most straight-forward way is to look in the Mental Measurements Yearbook database.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas. NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.
This resource also integrates the complete Tests in Print database, which is also produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.

NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.

The second way requires some strategic searching in the PsycINFO database.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
The American Psychological Association's abstracts of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Indexing and abstracting of articles from nearly 10,000 journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Links to full text in the PsycARTICLES database as well as other full-text EBSCOhost databases.

PsycINFO has a Tests & Measures search field. In order to search for articles that have used a measure on a specific topic, enter a very broad key term in the search field, and use the dropdown to select Tests & Measures.

The image above shows what a search for measures related to suicide risk and suicidality might look like. In the search bar, the suicid* is our search term, which will pick up any variations on the word suicide. The TM Tests & Measures selection from the dropdown tells the database that our key term must appear in the Tests & Measures field.

However, this does not guarantee that the measure that was used in the study will appear in the article. Sometimes measures are appended to the article, in which case, you might want to try a search that includes a second search line with the key term append* and the dropdown Tests & Measures. See image below.

Within the results of the above search, you should find one or more of the measures used in the study attached as an appendix or within the text of the article.