LGBTQ America: A Theme Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer History is a publication of the National Park Foundation for the National Park Service and funded by the Gill Foundation. Each chapter is written and peer-reviewed by experts in LGBTQ Studies. The chapters explore different aspects of LGBTQ history and heritage, tying them to specific places across the country. They include examinations of LGBTQ community, civil rights, the law, health, art and artists, commerce, the military, sports and leisure, and sex, love, and relationships.
The Healthcare Equality Index (HEI) is the national LGBTQ benchmarking tool that evaluates healthcare facilities' policies and practices related to the equity and inclusion of their LGBTQ patients, visitors and employees. The HEI evaluates more than 1,600 healthcare facilities nationwide.
At the 1995 United Nations Fourth World Conference on Women, Governments adopted the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, which “seeks to promote and protect the full enjoyment of all human rights and the fundamental freedoms of all women throughout their life cycle.” Guided by these principles, the World’s Women 2015: Trends and Statistics presents the latest statistics and analyses of the status of women and men in areas of concern identified by the Platform for Action. It also reviews progress towards gender equality over the past 20 years. A new version of the report is published every 5 years.
Gay and Lesbian Biography by Michael J. TyrkusNow researchers have a one-stop source for information about notable gays and lesbians from all cultures, time periods and occupations. Gay and Lesbian Biography provides comprehensive profiles on approximately 275 prominent gays and lesbians. This first-of-its-kind resource covers famous names as well as many lesser-known individuals not covered elsewhere. Entries were selected and prepared with the guidance of a six-member advisory board made up of prominent members of the gay and lesbian community. Profiles include: -- An assessment of the person's role and importance in the gay and lesbian community -- A list of references cited in the essay -- A photograph of the subject (when available) Also includes a general subject index, a list of contributors and nationality and occupation indexes.
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Historical Dictionary of Lesbian Literature by Meredith MillerWhile lesbian literature can trace its name back to the Greek poet Sappho, who was born on the Island of Lesbos in 630 B.C., it was not until the past century that the genre really gained popularity. More lesbian poems, novels and plays, as well as secondary literature, have been produced during the last one hundred years than during all the previous centuries put together. The Historical Dictionary of Lesbian Literature serves two primary functions: to provide further information to those who are already familiar with the field, and to explain it to those who are just getting acquainted. Several hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on important writers such as Sappho, Colette, Mary Wollstonecraft, and many others who are less well known are included. Other entries deal with the styles, themes, literary movements, publishers, and outstanding works of the genre. It is hoped that the entries, taken together, will provide an idea of the factors, which have influenced the development of the lesbian identity as an interaction between readers and writers of all kinds of literature. Also included are a chronology and an introduction depicting the progression of the genre, and a bibliography for further research.
Publication Date: 2006-01-12
Gay Lives by Robert AldrichThe exploits of the famous never cease to captivate our imaginations--rulers, artists, explorers, and all the great personalities of history. Yet many quieter lives also have the ability to impress, to teach us something about the remarkable qualities of human nature.In this book, Robert Aldrich presents a fascinating portrait of gay men and women throughout history that reveals the full diversity of gay lives as lived in their times. He gives a voice to more than seventy people from around the world and all walks of life, from poets, philosophers, and artists to radicals and activists. Along with celebrated names such as Michelangelo, Frederick the Great, and Harvey Milk are lesser-known but no less inspiring individuals: two men of ancient Egypt whose lives were closely linked over four thousand years ago; a Renaissance nun who blurred the boundaries between spiritual and physical love; and "Aimée" and "Jaguar," whose love defied the death camps of wartime Germany.Often colorful, occasionally tragic, but all in some way extraordinary, these life stories reflect--and have sometimes helped to shape--contemporary attitudes toward same-sex intimacy.
The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York. These men and women of all races and classes have transformed entrenched cultural ideas about homosexuality, sexuality, illness, health care, civil rights, art, media, and the rights of patients.
Gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender individuals have special health concerns besides the usual ones that affect most men and women. On this page you'll find information about these specific health issues.
The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Transgender Historical Society collects, preserves, and interprets the history of GLBT people and the communities that support them. Founded in 1985, the society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of GLBT public history.
Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. The collections at ONE Archives are a part of University of Southern California Libraries.
The LGBT Community Center National History Archive is a community-based archive that collects, preserves and makes available to the public the documentation of LGBTQ lives and organizations centered in and around New York.