Subject and Course Guides: LGBTQ+: Home

Welcome! This guide was created to help with research related to LGBTQ+ research. Please see below recommended databases and use the tabs on the left to navigate to menus for specific research purposes.

Recommended Databases

LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
LGBTQ+ Life is an indexing and abstracting resource covering world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes links to some full text resources.
LGBTQ+ Life is a focused resource covering world literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. The database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 180 LGBT-specific core periodicals and more than 310 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. It includes current coverage of these sources, as well as deep backfiles for key publications - many back to the first published issue. Examples of publications indexed back to their inaugural issues include The Advocate (1967), Journal of Homosexuality (1974) and Harvard Gay and Lesbian Review (1994). It also contains articles mined from more than 40 priority periodicals as well as more than 6,500 select titles. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications, including Journal of Bisexuality, Gay Times,Lesbian News, Journal of Lesbian Studies, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, Journal of Gender Studies, NWSA Journal, Women's Studies, etc.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports focused on topics of current interest covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. A great tool to use for discovering research topics and gathering background information.
Women & Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Brings together books, images, primary sources, biographical information and statistics for in-depth access to research on women's studies.
This database is a repository of primary and secondary documents in the field of U.S. Women's History. Included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. Women's History, advertisements, book chapters, diaries, images, legal documents, letters, organizational notes, transcripts of speeches, along with scholarly interpretations.