Subject and Course Guides: International Business Resources: Company

Company Databases

The databases listed below include company information, several include financial data. Many have links to the SEC or EDGAR websites.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text, peer-reviewed business publications, as well as indexing and abstracts for many scholarly business journals.
Business Source Complete (BSC) is the world's most comprehensive scholarly business database that provides full-text access to almost 4,000 business and scholarly journals, plus indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals dating back as far as 1886. Select journals included in this database are: Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, and Administrative Science Quarterly. Additional full-text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more. BSC is an important resource for researchers interested in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. Updated monthly.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Contains information on U.S. and non-U.S. public companies, municipal entities, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information
Provides information on U.S. and non-companies including annual reports, financial data, Executive Search, Edgar searching, and Industry Reports. Detailed: U.S. Company Data provides a fully searchable database of 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges. Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items. U.S. Company Archives Data holds the full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward. International Universe provides data on 20,000 non-U.S. companies, while the International Archives provides the latest available financial information on non-U.S. companies that have merged, were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or otherwise disappeared from 1995 forward. Features include: 15 years of detailed financial statements, the ability to customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need, export company reports and financials into software applications such as Microsoft(r) Word, Microsoft(r) Excel or Adobe(r) Acrobat(r) Reader(r), execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables, compare multiple companies' reports, view more than 115,000 images of company annual reports.
Nexis Dossier This link opens in a new window
Open Nexis Uni
Click on Business (near the bottom of the page).
Click on the Create a Company List in the Company Dossier box.
Nexis Dossier empowers professionals from all industries to narrow in on what they need to know. From gaining competitive intelligence and researching potential candidates for hire to investigating mergers and qualifying potential clients and customers, Dossier brings together results on more than 240 million companies and organizes them to optimize your results.

Web Sites

Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
Excellent tool for company financials such as the 10K or quarterly reports. This link goes the Filings & Forms site.

Companies Operating in Other Countries

Nexis Dossier (was Corporate Affiliations)
Provides hierarchical information on more than 170,000 of the most prominent parent companies and their affiliates. Lists of companies meeting specific criteria can be created. Click on Business (near the bottom of the page), then select Find a Company. If you scroll down on the Find a Company page, there is an option to choose specific regions or countries.

Mergent Online
Provides information up to 30 years of financial information on U.S. and non-U. S companies including annual reports, financial data, Executive Search, Edgar searching, and Industry Reports.