Subject and Course Guides: Biology 3301 Course Guide: Finding Sources

Where to Search

NOTE: Searching example videos are in the box below.

Library Catalog
Search the library catalog for books that UT Arlington Library owns.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database for scientific research that includes journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
Gene
integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.

BioMed Central (BMC) This link opens in a new window
An independent, open access publisher of peer-reviewed biomedical research, including journal articles, current reports and meeting abstracts.
BioMed Central (BMC) is an independent open access publisher of peer-reviewed biomedical research. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. Subject covered include: biology, biochemistry, bioinformatics, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, neurosciences, physiology, plant physiology, and structural biology.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to hundreds of peer-reviewed bioscience research journals.
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact, peer-reviewed bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today's most pressing topics. Most of these journals are published by small scientific societies and non-commercial publishers. The database enables integrated access to interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Articles are available in HTML and printer-friendly PDF formats. Updated weekly.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 21 million MEDLINE citations and over 3 million additional life science journal article citations.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for life science literature.
Biological Abstracts is one of the foremost indexes on life science journal literature. The database indexes over 4,000 international journals and contains over 14 million archival records from as far back as 1926, with more than 370,000 citations added each year related to vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Subjects covered includes: agriculture, anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, biomedicine, bioengineering, biotechnology, botany, ecology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology. Updated regularly.

Biology 3301 Course Guide

Searching techniques

Where to Search

Searching Examples - Click images below for videos