Skip to main content

Music: Help

Starting point for basic research on music topics.

Search our FAQ

Citation Resources

APA Documentation (U Wisconsin)
Examples of APA style that may be helpful.

APA Style (Purdue OWL)
The Online Writing Lab at Purdue offers advice about APA.

All About APA 6th Edition
Details of writing and references according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.

The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style.

Chicago Formatting and Style Guide from The Owl at Purdue (16th edition)

Chicago How To Guide (PDF)
This UTA guide contains formats and examples for Chicago N-B (16th ed.) for the source types most commonly cited by students.

Turabian Quick Guide
Online website "Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations presents two basic documentation systems, notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and parenthetical citations–reference list style (or reference list style). These styles are essentially the same as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, with slight modifications for the needs of student writers."

A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago style for students and researchers
Link to reference book for Turabian style.

A tool that allows users to create a personal database of research, download citations and generate accurate, concise bibliographies for research papers.

"Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."

Loading ...

Interlibrary Loan and TexShare

Get books we don't have.

Off-Campus Access

Full Guide to Off-Campus Access Issues

Institutional Firewalls
Workplaces and schools often have firewalls.  You will see an error message that says something like site blocked, unauthorized, connection refused, or reuqested URL could not be retrived. Many problems involving remote access from a school or workplace will require the assistance of the IT staff at those locations. If they are willing, they can contact us about opening certain ports so that you can have access to the library's databases.  Please refer them to this form so that they can request the information they will need.

Get a VPN Connection
Enables an easier connection once the appropriate software is installed.

Pop Up Blockers
Some databases use popup windows to display search results or extra options. Popup blockers may be installed as part of a browser toolbar, as part of your browser, as part of your virus protection software, or even as a separate program. 

UTA Library Help

Live Help

Call us at 817.272.3395 or 888.565.9023

Text us at 817.727.8395

Email us at

APA Style