"Offers a cultural history of French literature from its very beginnings, analysing the relationship between French literature and France's evolving power structures from the Middle Ages through to the present day. It shows the political connections between the elite literature of France and other aspects of its culture, from racism, misogyny, tolerance and liberal reform to song, street performance, advertising and cinema."
"Specially commissioned essays by specialists focus on a wide range of political, historical and cultural questions in this Companion. The book provides information and analysis on such topics as French national identity, architecture, the mass media, food, literature, cinema, intellectual culture and music. It features supplementary material that includes a chronology, illustrations and suggestions for further reading."
"This splendid introduction to French literature from 842 A.D. to the present decade is the most imaginative single-volume guide to the French literary tradition available in English. Conceived for the general reader, this volume presents French literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles, but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary critical perspectives. The book consists of 164 essays by American and European scholars, and covers the history of French literature from 842 to 1989."
The authors "have divided the history in three sections ("The Middle Ages: From the Earliest Texts to 1470"; "The Early Modern Period: 1470-1789"; and "The Modern Period: 1789-2000"), introducing each with a broad overview and then discussing the period in more depth. Although the volume adds very few noncanonical authors to the list of otherwise familiar names of French literature, its references to francophone and gay and lesbian writers make it a thoroughly modern survey. But it is the telling of the story against the rich backdrop of historical and social contexts that makes this overview so important. That all the information in this book can coexist in a format that is such an enjoyable read is truly remarkable."
"This volume provides a unique and valuable insight into the novel in French over the past two centuries. Essays by acknowledged experts range widely over issues and texts, referring to earlier periods and other genres and literatures where relevant. Theoretical discussion is combined with close reading, and there is a challenging reassessment of major figures and traditional views. All quotations are translated and there is a chronology and guide to further reading, making this an essential working manual for all those interested in modern French fiction."
"Recasting French literary history in terms of the cultures and peoples that interacted within and outside of France's national boundaries, this volume offers a new way of looking at the history of a national literature, along with a truly global and contemporary understanding of language, literature, and culture. The relationship between France's national territory and other regions of the world where French is spoken and written (most of them former colonies) has long been central to discussions of 'Francophonie.' Boldly expanding such discussions to the whole range of French literature, the essays in this volume explore spaces, mobilities, and multiplicities from the Middle Ages to today."
1861- to present. The Dissertations Abstracts database contains citations for dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Titles published from 1997 forward have 24 page previews and are available as full test.
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.