SCIE 4304 - Diagnosing Disease in Humans

The famous, unconditionally guaranteed, durable paperback edition with high-quality paper and binding.

Color the world with crayons and imagination! With these fact-filled coloring books for children and adults, anyone can recreate timeless works of art, or take a tour of the human body. Each book features a ready-to-color 17" x 22" poster to hang on the wall.Embark on a voyage of discovery through the human body, based on the classic work by Henry Gray. Children and adults will enjoy learning about the various systems of the body and their particular functions. Then they can get creative, coloring in the detailed illustrations of those systems.

Back by popular demand: the world's most widely-used medical reference, now in its 20th edition. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy has been thoroughly updated and expanded with a larger trim size to include 40% new and revised content, including 36 new chapters with more than 200 tables and 100 figures. Packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders, this comprehensive guide was written by a team of renowned medical experts. It is intended for everyday use by healthcare professionals to ensure delivery of the best care to their patients. The new Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy makes it easy to find the right information at the moment it's needed, with the help of section thumb tabs. It is a must-have for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, nurses, and allied health professionals. New larger trim 7 3/4 x 9 1/4 to accommodate 40% new content 36 completely new chapters Revised and expanded chapters in Cardiovascular, Genitourinary, Gynecologic, Neurologic, Pregnancy, and Infants and Children Pediatrics and trauma section significantly revised and expanded Key Points summarize the facts at-a-glance New Pearls & Pitfalls highlight noteworthy medical info and areas of caution 16-page full-color insert aids visual recognition of skin, eye, and oral disorders

Taber's brings meanings to life. In hand, online or mobile...the all-in-one, go-to source for classroom, clinic, and beyond. Put the language of nursing, medicine, and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 24 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects today's most current and relevant information. An access code inside new, print texts unlocks a FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, the complete Taber's database for quick reference when and where you need it. See what students and practitioners are saying about the previous edition... Five Stars "What every medical student, student nurse, paramedic student, and medical professional should have."--Kelly, Online Reviewer EVERYTHING A NURSING STUDENT NEEDS. "My school did not recommend this book, but I remembered this book from LPN school and how much it helped with care planning. It's much easier to carry than all the textbooks to clinicals too! LOVE this newest version too!!"--Melissa A. B., Online Reviewer Nursing school life saver. "This book has been a great for my clinical experience databases. I love how it's broken into sections for easy access and understanding. My school offers an electronic edition for free to us, but I like hard copy books."--P.M., Online Reviewer Gotta Have It! "I have thoroughly used this dictionary already in my schooling! I am sure it will help me in many days to come."--Christina M., Online Reviewer Very Informative! "Love that I have access to the online version that makes it quicker to find terms needed for class."--Kelly V., Online Reviewer Great book. "I use it for nursing school during my clinicals and it is perfect."--Online Reviewer

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The classic guide to the undifferentiated patient-enhanced by new cases  Technological advances have taken testing and imaging to remarkable new places--yet establishing patient history and performing physical examinations are more important now than ever. This classic guide has been showing students and clinicians how to approach the diagnostic process thoughtfully and systematically for decades--and this revised edition brings you completely up to date. Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination provides the information and insights you need to make accurate, evidence-based diagnostic hypotheses. Covering all physical exam techniques and procedures, this updated edition shows how to collect clinical findings gleaned from the physical examination and synthesize them into a differential diagnosis. *  Covers the latest developments in evidence-based physical examinations *  Explains how to obtain a complete patient history and perform a thorough physical exam *  Organized by signs, symptoms, and syndromes to make finding what you need quick and easy *  Connects symptoms and signs with disease pathophysiology *  Facilitates efficient, cost-effective diagnostic testing using focused differential diagnoses This classic guide continues to effectively combine current diagnostic practices with the unchanging aspects of clinical medicine. 

The Objective Structured Clinical Examination or OSCE for short is a familiar and often daunting experience for medical students. This book provides the essential information needed to tackle OSCE stations competently and with confidence. Over 150 topics are covered at the perfect level of detail for candidates preparing for final exams. Using bulleted checklists and a succinct writing style, the authors cover the most important points to remember about the key conditions that students are likely to encounter during OSCEs, all in a brief 2 to 4 pages per condition.

Physical Assessment for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals offers a practical and comprehensive guide to best clinical practice when taking patient history and physical examination. This accessible text is structured in accordance with the competencies for advanced practice in assessment, diagnosis and treatment as published by the RCN. Following a systematic, systems-based approach to patient assessment, it includes a summary of the key clinical skills needed to develop and improve clinical examination in order to confidently assess, diagnose, plan and provide outstanding care. In this revised edition, colour photographs and case studies have been included to assist health care practitioners in their assessment of the patient. This important guide:  Includes a highly visual colour presentation with photographs and illustrations Features a wide range of key learning points to help guide practice Offers illustrative examples, applications to practice and case studies Written for health care students, newly qualified and advanced nurse practitioners, and those in the allied health professions, Physical Assessment for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals is the essential guide for developing the skills needed to accurately access patient history and physical examination.

Accurate clinical observations are the key to good patient care and fundamental to nursing practice. Vital Signs for Nurses will support anyone in care delivery to enhance their skills, reflect upon their own practice and assist in their continuing professional development. This practical introductory text explores how to make assessments of heart rate, blood pressure, temperature, pain and nutrition. It also looks at issues of infection control, record-keeping and legal and ethical considerations. With case studies and examples throughout, this text will be invaluable to all healthcare assistants, student nurses, Trainee Assistant Practitioners and students on foundation degrees.

This encyclopedia is a concise yet comprehensive guide to the systems of the human body that is accessible to the lay reader. Ligaments and lymphatic fluid. The heart and the hormone regulatory system. The respiratory and reproductive systems. The human body comprises a myriad of fascinating, complex, and efficient systems, many of which operate constantly without our knowledge or awareness--that is, until we become ill or injured. This encyclopedia provides a concise yet comprehensive introduction to each of the systems of the human body, exploring all 11 organ systems of the human body: the circulatory, digestive, endocrine, integumentary, lymphatic, muscular, nervous, reproductive, respiratory, skeletal, and urinary systems. Each chapter includes detailed descriptions of important physiological processes, cell and tissue types, as well as the organs and their roles within the larger system. Special attention is also given to the ways in which these systems interact. Written in accessible prose, this text is an easy-to-understand reference for lay readers of any age and an ideal resource for any high school health curriculum. Features over 150 pictures, anatomical drawings, tables, and diagrams Provides entertaining sidebars and interesting facts throughout the encyclopedia Contains a bibliography and index to aid in study The comprehensive glossary contains more than 600 terms used in the text

""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--

Your essential guide in the assessment and diagnostic process. Step by step, you'll hone your ability to perform effective health assessments, obtain valid data, interpret the findings, and recognize the range of conditions that can be indicated by specific findings to reach an accurate differential diagnosis. You'll have coverage of 170 conditions and symptoms across the lifespan at your fingertips.

A comprehensive, evidence-based introduction to the principles and practices of patient communication in a clinical setting Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition presents a step-by-step methodology for mastering every aspect of the medical interview. Readers will learn how to confidently obtain from patients accurate biomedical facts, as well as critical personal, social, and emotional information, allowing them to make a precise diagnosis, develop effective treatment plans, and forge strong clinician-patient relationships. The most evidence-based guide available on the topic, Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition applies the proven 5-step approach, which integrates patient- and clinician-centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and use of color to highlight key points, and pedagogy includes learning an practice exercises in each chapter.

The Clinical Interview offers a new perspective on the patient encounter. Interpreting decades of evidence-based psychotherapy and neuroscience, it provides 60 succinct techniques to help clinicians develop rapport, solicit better histories, and plan treatment with even the most challenging patients. This book describes brief skills and techniques for clinical providers to improve their patient interactions. Although evidence-based psychotherapies are typically designed for longer specialized treatments, elements of these psychotherapies can help clinicians obtain better patient histories, develop more effective treatment plans, and more capably handle anxiety-provoking interactions. Each chapter is brief and easily digestible, contains sample clinical dialogue, and provides references for further reading. These skills help clinicians practice more effectively, more efficiently, and with greater resilience. Whatever your clinical specialty or role, whether you are a trainee or an experienced clinician, The Clinical Interview offers practical wisdom and an entirely new way to think about the clinical encounter. The Clinical Interview will be of great use to any student in a health-related field of study or a healthcare professional interested in refining their interviewing skills. It will help anyone from emergency medical technicians, nurses, and physician assistants, to nurse practitioners and physicians to build more meaningful patient relationships.

The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily.  Packed with trusted content that keeps you up to date current on the changing guidelines and treatments on an annual basis, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 is completely focused on bedside clinical issues. It covers all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology.  Features *  200 photos and illustrations and hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices *  Year in Review table highlights key clinical updates over the last year *  Comprehensive coverage of patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to day-to-day practice *  Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images and annual review of advances in HIV treatment *  Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders *  Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present important information in an at-a-glance style *  Carefully curated references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information *  Electronic-only chapters available to all book customers *  Expanded content available online and in eBook for every chapter

"This book is a tremendous asset for students and residents learning to develop their diagnostic skills. It can also be useful as a refresher for established clinicians when the more common diagnoses are not the cause of a patient's complaints." --Doody's Review An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine Doody's Core Titles for 2022!   Symptom to Diagnosis, Fourth Edition teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy.   Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified.  As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is explained in detail. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that highlight the clinical clues and important tests for the leading diagnostic hypothesis and alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted.   Completely updated to reflect the latest research in clinical medicine, this fourth edition is enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, questions that direct evaluation, and an examination of recently developed diagnostic tools and guidelines. Clinical pearls are featured in every chapter. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment.  

Differential Diagnosis of Common Complaints, 6th Edition, by Drs. Robert H. Seller and Andrew B. Symons, helps you quickly and efficiently diagnose the 36 most common symptoms reported by patients. Organized alphabetically by presenting symptom, each chapter mirrors the problem-solving process most physicians use to make a diagnosis. It's a practical, clinically oriented approach that can help you master the differential diagnosis of common symptoms and diagnose almost all the problems typically seen in your practice.Find the guidance you need quickly through an alphabetical organization by presenting symptom and a concise, consistent, user-friendly approach that mirrors the diagnostic decision-making process. Recognize skin problems more easily with full-color images in the dermatology chapter. Effectively diagnose your patients using an increased focus on evidence-based decision making, thoroughly updated material, and the latest results from clinical and diagnostic studies. Determine which imaging modalities and laboratory tests offer the greatest efficiencies and accuracy for a given set of symptoms. Get a fresh perspective from new co-author, Dr. Andrew B. Symons, who brings a strong background in education as Vice Chair of Medical Student Education at SUNY Buffalo. Search the entire text online and find links to self-assessment questions, case studies, and relevant content from other Student Consult titles at www.studentconsult.com.

Completely updated with new literature analyses, here is a uniquely practical, clinically relevant approach to the use of evidence in the content of physical examination. Going far beyond the scope of traditional physical examination texts, this invaluable resource compiles and presents the evidence-based meanings of signs, symptoms, and results from physical examination maneuvers and other diagnostic studies. Page after page, you'll find a focus on actual clinical questions and presentations, making it an incomparably practical resource that you'll turn to again and again. Importantly, the high-yield content of The Rational Clinical Examination is significantly expanded and updated from the original JAMA articles, much of it published here for the first time. It all adds up to a definitive, ready-to-use clinical exam sourcebook that no student or clinician should be without. FEATURES Packed with updated, new, and previously unpublished information from the original JAMA articles Standardized template for every issue covered, including: Case Presentation; Why the Issue Is Clinically Important; Research and Statistical Methods Used to Find the Evidence Presented; The Sensitivity and Specificity of Each Key Result; Resolution of the Case Presentation; and the Clinical Bottom Line Completely updated with all-new literature searches and appraisals supplementing each chapter Full-color format with dynamic clinical illustrations and images Real-world focus on a specific clinical question in each chapter, reflecting the way clinicians approach the practice of evidence-based medicine More than 50 complete chapters on common and challenging clinical questions and patient presentations.

The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: * Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology * Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests * New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents,including the Zika and Ebola viruses * Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests * An entire section of diagnostic algorithms * Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference * Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests * Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.

Covers essentials for more than 400 lab and diagnostic tests. Includes lab tests, radiography, arteriography, nuclear- and non-nuclear imaging, endoscopy, organ function and electrophysiology tests. Identifies panic lab levels and nurse alerts. Features illustrations that show positioning and views, specimen tube top colors, and examples of X-ray, mammogram, CT scan, MRI, ultrasound, whole skeleton bone scan, and lung scan images. Offers patient education guidelines and tips. Uses wipe-on/wipe-off, HIPAA-compliant pages.

GUIDE TO LABORATORY AND DIAGNOSTIC TESTS: ORGANIZED ALPHABETICALLY, Third Edition, provides essential information on more than 600 lab and diagnostic tests within a single, convenient volume. This all-in-one resource presents detailed, accurate information in an accessible, easy-to-use format. Trusted by professionals in the fields of medicine, nursing, medical technology, and more, this clear, concise guide enables users to quickly access critical information on tests and procedures while maintaining a strong focus on patient care. Now updated to reflect the latest research, trends, and best practices, the new Third Edition is an ideal resource for students and professionals alike.

Urine tests are used by a variety of primary care providers and specialists in order to diagnose, monitor and treat patients with various medical conditions. This first-of-its-kind text is a comprehensive clinical guide to the evaluation and application of urine tests. Clinical cases are used to highlight important aspects of urine testing. Further evaluation and management are then discussed based on the results of the urine tests. Topics covered include financial considerations, regulations, proper collection, testing methods, dipstick analysis, microscopy as well as cancer and drug screening tests, among others. Each chapter contains specific objectives for focus of study. Pertinent images, algorithms and board style review questions for important topics are also included. Written by nephrologists, urologists, other specialists and primary care physicians, Urine Tests uses a comprehensive approach to the clinical use of both common and uncommon urine testing. Primarily appealing to practicing primary care physicians, this book is also a useful resource for specialists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, physician fellows, residents and medical students alike.    

This book discusses urinalysis in clinical laboratory practice, including a historical overview, methods, future endeavours.

This fully illustrated text is an essential guide for trainees in Haematology and Medicine studying for higher examinations, as well as for professionals wishing to expand their knowledge or revalidate. The book contains over 100 illustrated cases covering the whole field of malignant and non-malignant haematology, including coagulation problems and infectious diseases. Each case contains a set of questions written by two Royal College examiners, with answers on the reverse page. Readers can make differential diagnoses and devise treatment plans and prognoses, before turning the page to read the experts' detailed answers. The cases are presented in random order - just as they would be in real life - and are of varying lengths and degrees of difficulty, accompanied by hundreds of colour photomicrographs, photographs, and x-rays. This new edition is revised and updated, with new cases, images, and tables.

This book serves as an introduction to the dynamic field of radiology for medical students, non-radiology house staff, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, radiology assistants, and other allied health professionals and provides information that ranges from basic radiographic principles to advanced imaging techniques. It begins with a discussion of the fundamental concepts underlying the medical use of imaging modalities such as ultrasound, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, and nuclear medicine. Subsequent chapters are organized by anatomic region and imaging modality that highlight the radiologist's role in diagnosing and treating common disorders. Each chapter offers learning objectives to aid readers in recognizing important points and connecting the basic radiology concepts. The sixth edition is thoroughly updated. The editors and authors introduce the approach to SAFE radiology, explaining the concepts of S-safety in all modalities, A-appropriateness of imaging ordering, F-interpreting films and E-acting expeditiously on significant findings and executing the recommendation of the imaging findings. Easy to learn and easy to remember, SAFE reminds all health care professionals  that safety and appropriateness should precede any imaging testing and that all results should be applied expeditiously and thoughtfully.

A practical clinically relevant introduction to diagnostic radiology Introduction to Basic Radiology is written to provide non-radiologists with the level of knowledge necessary to order correct radiological examinations, improve image interpretation, and enhance their interpretation of various radiological manifestations. The book focuses on the clinical scenarios most often encountered in daily practice and discusses practical imaging techniques and protocols used to address common problems. Relevant case scenarios are included to demonstrate how to reach a specific diagnosis. Introduction to Basic Radiology is divided into ten chapters. The first two chapters provide basic information on various diagnostic imaging techniques and control agents. Each of the following chapters discuss imaging of specific organ systems and begin with a description of the imaging modality of choice and illustrates the relevant features to help simplify the differential diagnosis. You will also find important chapters on pediatric radiology and women's imaging. Unlike other introductory texts on the subject, this book treats diagnosis from a practical point of view. Rather than discuss various diseases and classify them from the pathologic standpoint, Introduction to Basic Radiology utilizes cases from the emergency room and physician's offices and uses a practical approach to reach a diagnosis. The cases walk you through a radiology expert's analysis of imaging patterns. These cases are presented progressively, with the expert's thinking process described in detail. The cases highlight clinical presentation, clinical suspicion, modality of choice, radiologic technique, and pertinent imaging features of common disease processes.

A concise and comprehensive review of findings and differential diagnoses found on the oral board examination for diagnostic radiology. Drawing on pertinent and key differential diagnoses, the authors have assembled and organized the diagnoses most likely to appear on the exam and illustrated them with essential images to reinforce the findings associated with each differential. Additionally, with each finding set is provided a mnemonic to augment recall of any missing components of the differential that would be considered important. Because of their concise presentation, many cases can be examined, interpreted, completed, and memorized very rapidly in a single sitting. Since the majority of cases contain prototypical representations of pathology, the book also serves as an excellent reference source for many years after the reader has taken and passed the oral board examination.

This is the most comprehensive resource for candidates sitting the challenging final Clinical Skills Assessment exam, offering a complete curriculum guide as well as 110 role plays that can be removed and practised in pairs. The guidance is seamlessly aligned to the RCGP syllabus, fully up-to-date and referenced with the latest guidelines, with detailed 'model' answers to each case. Offering a new, straightforward consultation model highly suited to the requirements of the exam, the book provides: a realistic amount of information for both 'doctor' and 'patient' to closely replicate the exam the answers! Each case includes a fully worked up 'Model Consultation' summaries of guidelines and tips from the authors' recent experience of the CSA exam for all 110 cases an easy way to mark each colleague's role play attempts, with tick boxes on the Model Consultation and a universally applicable marking scheme card a colour-coded curriculum for ease of reference the only CSA casebook and revision guide providing information and answers across the curriculum. The Complete CSA Casebook is an excellent resource to prepare for a number of international examinations, including:　 Clinical Skills Assessment (CSA) for the RCGP (Royal College of General Practitioners). Simulated Surgery, Learning Needs Assessment, for the International GP Recruitment (IGPR) Scheme, GP Returner Scheme and GP Induction Scheme. Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) for the RACGP (Royal Australian College of General Practitioners) Fellowship. GPEP1 Clinical Examination for the RNZCGP (Royal New Zealand college of General Practitioners). The Certification Examination in Family Medicine simulated office orals (SOOs) for The College of Family Physicians of Canada." The Family Medicine Certification Examination for the ABFM (American Board of Family Medicine). and will remain an invaluable resource for best general practice after qualification.

This book is a compilation of endoscopic images of the upper gastrointestinal tract. The 3rd edition is enriched with high-resolution digital images highlighting the classification and staging of endoscopically relevant diseases. Serial documentation of diseases and procedures like corrosive injury, variceal obliteration, peptic ulcer etc. provides a complete, informative and interesting perspective. Rare conditions like Dieulafoy's disease and Gastric antral vascular ectasia (GAVE) have been extensively discussed along with common diseases of the GI tract. This book outlines the technique and interpretation of endoscopic images proving to be a helpful guide to endoscopy practitioners. Key Features Explores various GI tract diseases through coloured, high resolution clinical photographs. Serves as a useful reckoner for trainee endoscopists and practitioners pursuing gastroenterology or gastrointestinal endoscopy. The text is updated with tables, flowcharts, classifications and international treatment guidelines.

The reader's rapid assimilation of medical concepts is the key to the continuing success of this best-selling book. A caption explains the concept illustrated on each page, and a few simple sentences reinforce the concept with interactive (programmed) learning, which links to the following page. Dr Dubin's light and entertaining style, known world-wide, makes learning enjoyable. Practice twelve-lead tracings at the end establish self-confidence, and summarised reference sheets with examples (designed to be copied) provide an excellent review. Most recently updated in February 2006.

The significantly expanded second edition of this important textbook provides a comprehensive overview of the basics of electrocardiography.  Each chapter is revised, and the book includes new chapters that focus on pacemakers, low voltage, pulmonary embolism, and hypothermia.  The book is intended to help students in all health care delivery fields and at all levels of training to learn the basic concepts of interpreting electrocardiograms. It concisely covers the essential components of electrocardiography (ECG or EKG) and helps readers identify a number of conditions, including arrhythmias, bifascicular blocks, and heart attacks. Chapters are constructed to introduce basic themes, show examples from actual patient tracings, and provide practice through self-test electrocardiograms that reinforce the concepts taught in the chapter. Additionally, practice tracings build on the information provided in earlier chapters as well as on the features of the current one. Designed for the clerkship student, resident, or even the practicing professional who wants to brush up on EKG particulars, the second edition of Basic Electrocardiography is a user-friendly guide to one of medicine's most useful tools.

It is vital for NPs and PAs to be highly skilled in EKG interpretation to correctly identify high-risk patients and to make appropriate clinical decisions. This reference book is the first to present a comprehensive, multifaceted approach to EKG interpretation, covering all major topics required for expertise in this area. Based on a physiologic approach that facilitates in-depth understanding, the text includes clinical scenarios that may be seen in practice, and firmly links the information found in the EKG printout to the patientis symptoms. It clearly presents the gamut of requisite topics in EKG interpretationofrom basic to complexoincluding topics not customarily addressed in depth, such as supraventricular tachycardias and pacemaker EKGs. The bookis multifaceted approach to EKG interpretation is enhanced with new approaches and recommendations, charts, and tables. Review questions at the end of each chapter enable students to identify problem areas. This book helps NPs, PAs, and other health professionals master their EKG interpretation skills and apply them with confidence every day. Key Features: Presents the first comprehensive guide to EKG interpretationBased on a physiological approach to promote in-depth understandingConnects the patientis presenting symptoms to EKG interpretationUses charts, graphs, and printouts to support class discussionIncludes end-of-chapter review questions"

This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.