Subject and Course Guides: Military & Veterans Social Work: Scholarly Sources

Databases

PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress This link opens in a new window
This database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Focused on current military affairs, covering areas of engineering, public affairs, public policy, and international affairs
This database is focused on current military affairs, covering areas of engineering, public affairs, public policy, and international affairs. Includes full text for nearly 300 journals, 245 pamphlets, and CountryWatch country reports. Indexing and abstracting is provided for nearly 400 titles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
The American Psychological Association's abstracts of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Indexing and abstracting of articles from nearly 10,000 journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Links to full text in the PsycARTICLES database as well as other full-text EBSCOhost databases.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the fields of social work, social services, social welfare, social policy, and human services. NOTE: Only 8 simultaneous users allowed.
Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work, social services, social welfare, social policy, and human services. It includes abstracts of articles and dissertations. All areas of social work are covered, including theory and practice, many areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Social Work Abstracts is produced by the National Association of Social Workers.

NOTE: Only 8 simultaneous users allowed.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 21 million MEDLINE citations and over 3 million additional life science journal article citations.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource covering nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts of many titles. Use Chrome, Safari, or Firefox. Incompatible with InternetExplorer.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL), is the authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Material from over 1,600 journals are included in CINAHL; online abstracts are available for more than 1200 of these titles. Publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing are indexed. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.

Selecting and Using Keywords

The Logic of Searching

Using Boolean Operators when searching will give you better, and more accurate, results.

AND- Retrieves articles that contain all of the search terms and narrows down the results.
OR- Retrieves articles with any of the terms and broadens the search.
NOT- Eliminates articles containing the second term which narrows the search.
Using Quotations or brackets will search for a phrase as a whole.
Using Boolean logic and keywords are essential when searching library databases. If you only search Google, you won’t get very far. Google uses natural language, which is great when you want to find certain everyday things on the open web, but natural language doesn’t work in databases.

Military & Veterans Social Work: Scholarly Sources

What are scholarly sources?

Databases

Selecting and Using Keywords

The Logic of Searching