CINAHL CompleteAuthoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts of many titles. Incompatible with Internet Explorer; often results in errors. Use Chrome, Safari, or Firefox instead.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL), is the authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Material from over 1,600 journals are included in CINAHL; online abstracts are available for more than 1200 of these titles. Publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing are indexed. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
To find guidelines in CINAHL, select "practice guidelines" from the list under Publication Type in the advanced search screen.
Other Places to Find Clinical Guidelines
Bone Densitometry in Pediatrics by Aenor J. Sawyer (Editor); Ellen B. Fung (Editor); Laura K. Bachrach (Editor)The gold-standard resource for evaluating bone health in children and adolescents, this practical and highly anticipated second edition offers a comprehensive, fully updated resource for addressing bone health in these populations. Developed by a renowned international panel of experts in measuring and analyzing bone density in the pediatric patient and reflecting the 2013 International Society for Clinical Densitometry (ISCD) Guidelines for Pediatric DXA assessment, interpretation and reporting, this indispensable reference covers all the important changes in the field over the last 9 years. Some highlights of this edition include: an entire chapter on the assessment of infants and toddlers, a chapter devoted to the assessment of children with disabling conditions, an in-depth discussion of vertebral fracture and its etiologies, and a thorough review of the advantages and limitations of densitometry techniques including DXA, pQCT, HRpQCT, and MRI. New fracture prediction software, including Trabecular Bone Score and Finite Element Analysis, is described. In this edition, the limitations of DXA are addressed as are the most recent strategies for handling them including proposed DXA adjustments such as height Z-score. Solidifying itself as the leading text in the field, Bone Health Assessment in Pediatrics: Guidelines for Clinical Practice, 2nd edition provides all of the critical basic analysis and evaluation tools, images, and calculations necessary for clinical practice.
Publication Date: 2016-09-16
Clinical Practice Guidelines in Mental Health by Paula Whitty; Martin EcclesThis book describes the user-focused action evaluation approach for evaluating health programmes policies and changes. It shows that evidence for making decisions can be gathered using a broader range of methods than is usually recognised in healthcare. In asking 'evaluation for whom and for what?' the book defines validity of evidence in relation to usefulness as well as in terms of whether systematic methods were followed. Managers practitioners policy makers researchers and students will find this a practical and readable book. It gives the tools to make sense of an evaluation quickly as well as guidance for carrying one out and ensuring that evaluators gather evidence which can be used for better informed decisions.
Publication Date: 2004-04-30
Pediatric Mental Health: a Compendium of AAP Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies by American Academy of PediatricsThis new compendium is your source for trustworthy recommendations on quality care of children and adolescents with mental health issues. It features one new AAP clinical practice guideline on ADHD and 32 AAP policy statements and clinical and technical reports on mental health. This book is written for all practitioners who diagnose, treat, and provide general clinical care for children and adolescents with mental health conditions. It serves as a great tool to ensure pediatricians feel comfortable with handling mental health issues. The book combines both clinical practice guidelines for individual patient care and policy guidelines for community level care. Within the compendium, you will find the collected results of the AAP Committee on Psychosocial Aspects of Child and Family Health, the Committee on Pediatric Emergency Medicine, and the Section on Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics, in addition to select polices from other AAP groups. This compendium covers 33 different mental health topics and is organized into 8 sections for easy reference: * Mental health competencies * Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) * Adversity and toxic stress * Depression and bipolar disorder * Mental health/behavioral problems * Maltreatment * Mental health emergencies * Special pediatric populations and support
Many specialties have a governing body or association that updates guidelines for that specialty. The Nursing Organizations Index centralizes many of these associations into one document for you to search. It is organized alphabetically.