Search all UTA Libraries web pages including collections, exhibits, subject guides, staff directory, and FabLab.
The Ecocriticism Reader by Cheryll Glotfelty (Editor); Harold Fromm (Editor)The Ecocriticism Reader is the first collection of its kind, an anthology of classic and cutting-edge writings in the rapidly emerging field of literary ecology. Exploring the relationship between literature and the physical environment, literary ecology is the study of the ways that writing - from novels and folktales to U.S. government reports and corporate advertisements - both reflects and influences our interactions with the natural world.
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
Ecocriticism by Greg GarrardEcocriticism explores the ways in which we imagine and portray the relationship between humans and the environment in all areas of cultural production, from Wordsworth and Thoreau through to Google Earth, J.M. Coetzee and Werner Herzog¿s Grizzly Man. Greg Garrard¿s animated and accessible volume traces the development of the movement and explores its key concepts, including: pollution wilderness apocalypse dwelling animals earth. Featuring a newly rewritten chapter on animal studies, and considering queer and postcolonial ecocriticism and the impact of globalisation, this fully updated second edition also presents a glossary of terms and suggestions for further reading in print and online. Concise, clear, and authoritative, Ecocriticism offers the ideal introduction to this crucial subject for students of literary and cultural studies.
Call Number: PR143 .G37 2011, Central Library
Publication Date: 2011-08-23
Bodily Natures by Stacy AlaimoHow do we understand the agency and significance of material forces and their interface with human bodies? What does it mean to be human in these times, with bodies that are inextricably interconnected with our physical world? Bodily Natures considers these questions by grappling with powerful and pervasive material forces and their increasingly harmful effects on the human body. Drawing on feminist theory, environmental studies, and the sciences, Stacy Alaimo focuses on trans-corporeality, or movement across bodies and nature, which has profoundly altered our sense of self. By looking at a broad range of creative and philosophical writings, Alaimo illuminates how science, politics, and culture collide, while considering the closeness of the human body to the environment.
Call Number: GF41 .A385 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-25
Ecocriticism on the edge : the anthropocene as a threshold conceptEcocriticism on the Edge explores the possibility of a new mode of critical practice, one fully engaged with the destructive force of the planetary environmental crisis. Timothy Clark argues that, in literary and cultural criticism, the "Anthropocene", which names the epoch in which human impacts on the planet's ecological systems reach a dangerous limit, also represents a threshold at which modes of interpretation that once seemed sufficient or progressive become, in this new counterintuitive context, inadequate or even latently destructive. The book includes analyses of literary works, including texts by Paule Marshall, Gary Snyder, Ben Okri, Henry Lawson, Lorrie Moore and Raymond Carver.
Call Number: electronic resource
Ecocritical Explorations in Literary and Cultural Studies by Patrick D. MurphyPatrick D. Murphy explores environmental literature and environmental cultural issues through both theoretical and applied criticism. He engages with the concepts of referentiality, simplicty, the nation-state, and virtual reality in the first section of the book, and then goes on to interrogate these issues in contemporary environmental literature, both American and international. He concludes his argument with a discussion of the larger frames of family dynamics and unnatural disasters, such as hurricanes and global warming, ending with a chapter on the integration of scholarship and pedagogy in the classroom, with reference to his own teaching experiences. Murphy's study provides a wide-ranging discussion of contemporary literature and cultural phenomena through the lens of ecological literary criticism, giving attention to both theoretical issues and applied critiques. In particular, he looks at popular literary genres, such as mystery and science fiction, as well as actual disasters and disaster scenarios. Ecocritical Explorations in Literary and Cultural Studies is a timely contribution to ecological literary criticism and an insightful look into how we represent our relationship with the environment.
Call Number: PS169.E25 M87 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-16
The Environmental Imagination by Lawrence BuellWith the environmental crisis comes a crisis of the imagination, a need to find new ways to understand nature and humanity's relation to it. This is the challenge Lawrence Buell takes up in The Environmental Imagination.
Call Number: PS3057.N3 B84 1995
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Beyond Nature Writing by Karla Armbruster; Kathleen R. Wallace (Editor)Ecocriticism, a field of study that has expanded dramatically over the past decade, has nevertheless remained--until recently--closely focused on critical analyses of nature writing and literature of wilderness. Karla Armbruster and Kathleen R. Wallace push well beyond that established framework with this ground breaking collection of essays by respected ecocritics and scholars from the literary and environmental arenas. Together, their work signals a new direction in the field and offers refreshingly original insights into a broad spectrum of texts.
Call Number: PR143 .B49 2001
Publication Date: 2001-05-29
Ecocriticism and Early Modern English Literature by Todd Andrew BorlikIn this timely new study, Todd A. Borlik reveals the surprisingly rich potential for the emergent "green" criticism to yield fresh insights into early modern English literature. Deftly avoiding the anachronistic casting of sixteenth- and seventeenth-century authors as modern environmentalists, he argues that environmental issues, such as nature’s personhood, deforestation, energy use, air quality, climate change, and animal sentience, are formative concerns in many early modern texts. The readings infuse a new urgency in familiar works by Shakespeare, Sidney, Spenser, Marlowe, Ralegh, Jonson, Donne, and Milton. At the same time, the book forecasts how ecocriticism will bolster the reputation of less canonical authors like Drayton, Wroth, Bruno, Gascoigne, and Cavendish. Its chapters trace provocative affinities between topics such as Pythagorean ecology and the Gaia hypothesis, Ovidian tropes and green phenomenology, the disenchantment of Nature and the Little Ice Age, and early modern pastoral poetry and modern environmental ethics. It also examines the ecological onus of Renaissance poetics, while showcasing how the Elizabethans’ sense of a sophisticated interplay between nature and art can provide a precedent for ecocriticism’s current understanding of the relationship between nature and culture as "mutually constructive."
Call Number: PR438.E39 B67 2011
Publication Date: 2010-11-02
Future of Environmental Criticism by Lawrence BuellA much needed overview of a vital new field, The Future of Environmental Criticism captures the ecocritical movement’s present state of dynamic metamorphosis as it opens into post-humanism and ecofeminism, engages poststructural theory and environmental justice, and tests out alliances with various scientific fields and critical science studies in an increasingly international context. Nobody could accomplish this task better than Lawrence Buell, whose earlier books The Environmental Imagination and Writing for an Endangered World have become defining works for the environmental turn in literary scholarship. The previous works were primarily American in focus, while the new one begins in an Anglo-American context and broadens to a global literary scope. This latest volume completes an indispensable trilogy.
Call Number: Electronic books
Publication Date: 2009-02-09
Ecofeminism by Greta GaardThis admirable collection of 12 essays by academics and activists makes a significant contribution to the emergent ecofeminist literature. Arguing that the liberation of all oppressed groups must be addressed simultaneously, ecofeminists construct a theoretical bridge connecting environmentalism, animal liberation, and feminism. The editor's introduction skillfully erects the analytical foundation that frames the essays. Two essays describe ecofeminist theory, followed by three essays applying it. Two essays discuss the connections between animal liberation and ecofeminism, emphasizing the volume's unique focus on the centrality of all life on earth. The final four essays consider Western culture's perceptions of the woman-nature association and the cultural limitations of ecofeminism. Topics raised in the essays include green politics, the interpretation of history, ecofeminist praxis, and cultural imperialism. The writing style and structure of the essays are remarkably similar, making them accessible to students from the community college level up.
Call Number: HQ 1233 .E26 1993
Publication Date: 1993-01-14
Ecofeminism and Globalization by Heather Eaton; Lois Ann Lorentzen (Editor)Discusses ecofeminism in the context of the social, political and ecological consequences of globalization. The book includes case studies, essays, theoretical works, and articles on ecofeminist movements from many of the world's regions including Taiwan, Mexico, Kenya, Chile, India, Brazil, Canada, England and the United States.
Call Number: HQ1194 .E18 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-03
Healing the Wounds by Judith Plant (Editor)Because women have been the healers, nurturers and teachers of their loved ones, it seems appropriate (imperative) that we continue to awaken the offspring of the earth. There is an underlying partnership between every living thing; the environment is us. This beautiful collection of essays and poetry from women activists, writers and feminists who share this commitment, explores the link between women and nature in many cultures, exposes the abuses and prescribes ways of change. This is education for the uninformed and hope for the disheartened.
Call Number: HQ 1233 .H43 1989
Publication Date: 1989-08-01
Reweaving the World by Irene Diamond (Editor); Gloria F. Orenstein (Editor)Publication of this anthology celebrates the marriage of the ecology, radical feminist, and feminist spirituality movements. Its 13 contributors range from the director of the Research Foundation for Science and Ecology in Dahra Dun, India (Vandana Shiva) to American Indian activist/poet/scholar Paula Gunn Allen, with appearances in between from such well-known feminists as Carolyn Merchant, Carol Christ, Susan Griffin, etc. They here consider the history of ecofeminism, its differentiation from such other philosophical positions as Deep Ecology, the issues it addresses, and the approaches it suggests for dealing with current ecological crises. These are serious, even scholarly discussions, yet they remain readable and compelling.
Call Number: HQ 1233 .R46 1990
Publication Date: 1990-06-02
Woman and nature: the roaring inside her by Susan GriffinIn this famously provocative cornerstone of feminist literature, Susan Griffin brilliantly ponders the place and role of women in a predominantly patriarchal society. Her evocative explorations of far-ranging elements of human experience expose the hypocrisy of standard assumptions about gender and the environment.