Skip to main content

Career & Job Information in Science: Find Information on Businesses & Companies

Business, Company, & Industry Information

Business & Company Resource Center
"is a comprehensive research tool that meets core curriculum requirements in undergraduate and graduate case study work as well as the business research needs of the job seeker or casual investor. It offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies."----From Business & Company Resource Center Webpages

Business Source Complete-Enhanced
"This scholarly business database provides full text for more than 8000 serials, including 1100 peer-reviewed publications. Indexing of important journals goes back to 1886 or first issue. Also includes market research reports, industry reports, company profiles and country reports"

Corp Tech
"This database lists thousands of technology-related companies including both public and private; those headquartered in the U.S. or affiliated with a foreign parent company. Entries have narrative descriptions of each company, along with sales, number of employees, and other details. CorpTech can be searched by industry or product category, geographic location, sales category, employee size group, etc. to create lists of companies that meet certain criteria."

Corporate Affiliations
"Updated throughout the year, some companies may report weekly. The database provides corporate linkage information on more than 170,000 of the most prominent parent companies and their affiliates. The database includes major public and private businesses in the United States and throughout the world. Information is compiled and updated from information supplied by the listed companies themselves, as well as from research gathered from business publications and annual reports. Company records may include all or some of the following data: net income and net worth, subsidiary relationships, assets and liabilities, percentage of ownership, number of employees, mailing address, years in business, phone and fax numbers, fiscal year-end, e-mail addresses, key personnel (names and titles), web site, Board of Directors, business description, investor relations information, SIC codes, counts of plants and showrooms, sales, outside legal firms, earnings, auditor, and stock information. Generally, public companies from the NYSE, NASDAQ and AMEX exchanges are included."

Mergent Online
"Provides information on U.S. and non-companies including annual reports, financial data, Executive Search, Edgar searching, and Industry Reports. Detailed: U.S. Company Data provides a fully searchable database of 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges. Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items. U.S. Company Archives Data holds the full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward. International Universe provides data on 20,000 non-U.S. companies, while the International Archives provides the latest available financial information on non-U.S. companies that have merged, were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or otherwise disappeared from 1995 forward. Features include: 15 years of detailed financial statements, the ability to customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need, export company reports and financials into software applications such as Microsoft(r) Word, Microsoft(r) Excel or Adobe(r) Acrobat(r) Reader(r), execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables, compare multiple companies' reports, view more than 115,000 images of company annual reports."

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
"Standard & Poors NetAdvantage key components include: Industry Surveys and Global Industry Surveys - with peer company data and key ratios in Excel downloadable format; Company analysis - Stock Reports and Company Profiles with evaluations of business activities and opportunities, and - Compustat Excel Analytics with standardized financials; Independent S&P ranking on investment options such as Stocks, Bonds, and Mutual Funds; Global Analysis; and Corporate Responsibility Reports."

Using the databases-Help guides

"How to ..." guides Under Construction