Developing Assignments in the Etta Hulme Political Cartoon Archive

The Hulme Archive contains over 11,000 images that can be used in pedagogy! 

To design effective class instruction sessions, the first step will be to curate a set of cartoons that are relevant to your subject matter!

See below for step-by-step instructions and useful tips for searching the collection and downloading/saving cartoons for use.

Searching the Collection is easy!

To search, click the magnifying glass in the upper-right hand side of the screen.

This should bring up a search bar, which you can use to type in any search term you'd like. Please note that you will search across all metadata fields on this website.

For example, typing in the term "Communism" results in 27 results. From the results page, you can click on an individual image to see the metadata page.

Search Tip: Always be sure to try multiple terms for topic based searches. For example, results for "communism" vs. "communist" are different. Most of the cartoons in the collection are described minimally, and were not always described by people trained to analyze political cartoons. As such, most of the descriptive metadata is very literal. If deeper analysis would be necessary to see that Hulme was commenting on communism in a specific cartoon, it will be unlikely that the cartoon is described using the term "communism" or "communist".

Another option is to Browse the collection. 

This can be done by prominent People, Topics, or by Decade. 

Start by clicking "Browse" at the top of the front page. From here, you will see decades, Person Depicted, and Topics. 

Simply choose a topic, person, or decade you'd like to browse cartoons for, and begin browsing. 

On any of the pages, you can then narrow the results by choosing to click limiters on the left hand side of the screen. For example, if I were to browse the topic "politics & government", I can then limit by "Gorbachev, Mikhail Sergeevich, 1931-".

All Cartoons in the Hulme Archive are available for use under CC BY-NC 4.0 License (Attribution - NonCommercial). This grants users the right to share and adapt the cartoons, provided that the sharing and adapting are not for commercial purposes.

To download a cartoon, open the metadata page and right click on the cartoon. Select "Save Image As", and save the cartoon to your computer. 

Tip: The cartoon will download with the default title that matches the Scan number from UTA Libraries. While you are welcome to change this filename to whatever you'd like, you can also Search the file number in the Etta Hulme Cartoon Archive searchbar to locate the cartoon again quickly and easily.