Subject and Course Guides: U.S. History After 1865: The Recent Past

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
A gateway to the C-SPAN Archives where all programs aired since 1987 are indexed and available for immediate online viewing.
C-SPAN Video Library is a gateway to C-SPAN Archives where all programs aired since 1987 are immediately available to be viewed online for free. Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location.
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
This newspaper archive is a unique image collection that is accessible by keyword and date searching
A unique digital image collection that is accessible by keyword and date searching. It documents major events in Texas, the United States, and the world. Classified and display advertising, photos and graphics are included.
Fort Worth Star-Telegram (1902-present) This link opens in a new window
This newspaper archive is a unique image collection that is accessible by keyword and date searching
A unique digital image collection that is accessible by keyword and date searching. It documents major events in Texas, the United States, and the world. Classified and display advertising, photos and graphics are included.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2019) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2019) Historical Papers: The New York Times (1851-2019) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue
ProQuest Historical Newspapers---The New York Times is a full-image archive that brings the entire historical run of The New York Times, the definitive voice of American journalism since 1851.

Secondary Research - In our Collection

Capital in the Twenty-First Century: A Multidimensional Approach to the History of Capital and Social Classes by Thomas Piketty
This is primarily a book about the history of wealth, and the political and economic conflicts generated by its unequal distribution. Thanks to the cumulative efforts of several dozen scholars, we have been able to collect a relatively large historical database on the structure of national income and national wealth and the evolution of income and wealth distributions, covering three centuries and over twenty countries.
Freefall: America, Free Markets, and the Sinking of the World Economy by Joseph Stiglitz
ISBN: 9780393338959
Publication Date: 2010-10-04
Nobel Laureate Joseph E. Stiglitz explains how America exported bad economics, bad policies and bad behavior to the rest of the world. When World markets began to fail, America put together a haphazard response. Stiglitz outlines his responses to address the inequalities in the global financial and challenges economists for good ideas.
From the War on Poverty to the War on Crime by Elizabeth Hinton
ISBN: 9780674969223
Publication Date: 2016-05-02
In the United States today, one in every 31 adults is under some form of penal control, including one in eleven African American men. How did the "land of the free" become the home of the world's largest prison system? Challenging the belief that America's prison problem originated with the Reagan administration's War on Drugs, Elizabeth Hinton traces the rise of mass incarceration to an ironic source: the social welfare programs of Lyndon Johnson's Great Society at the height of the civil rights era.
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander
ISBN: 9781595581037
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
Once in a great while a book comes along that changes the way we see the world and helps to fuel a nationwide social movement. The New Jim Crow is such a book. Praised by Harvard Law professor Lani Guinier as "brave and bold," this book directly challenges the notion that the presidency of Barack Obama signals a new era of colorblindness.
The Rise of the Military Welfare State by Jennifer Mittelstadt
ISBN: 0674915372
Publication Date: 2015-10-12
After Vietnam the army promised its all-volunteer force a safety net long reserved for career soldiers: medical and dental care, education, child care, financial counseling, housing assistance, legal services. Jennifer Mittelstadt shows how this unprecedented military welfare system expanded at a time when civilian programs were being dismantled.
The Straight State: Sexuality and Citizenship in Twentieth-Century America by Margot Canaday
ISBN: 9780691135984
Publication Date: 2009-07-26
The Straight State is the most expansive study of the federal regulation of homosexuality yet written. Unearthing startling new evidence from the National Archives, Margot Canaday shows how the state systematically came to penalize homosexuality, giving rise to a regime of second-class citizenship that sexual minorities still live under today.
The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America by George Packer
ISBN: 9780374102418
Publication Date: 2013-05-21
Through an examination of the lives of several Americans and leading public figures over the past three decades, Packer portrays a superpower in danger of coming apart at the seams, its elites no longer elite, its institutions no longer working, its ordinary people left to improvise their own schemes for success and salvation.