Engineering Sciences: Materials Science

ASM Handbooks Online provides electronic access to the complete contents of the ASM Handbook published by the American Society for Metals (ASM). This resource, often referred to as The Metals Handbook, features extensive information and data about the selection, processing, performance, and analysis of all types of structural materials, including ferrous and non-ferrous metals. In addition to the ASM Handbook, users have access to: the ASM Handbook Supplements, the Engineered Materials Desk Edition, the Metals Handbook Desk Edition, the Reference Information Library, and the ASM Handbook Archive. Content for all of these resources is only available in HTML (web) format. Updated regularly.

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast full-text collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). The collection includes journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, data series, proceedings, bulletins, and standards. ASTM standards, which include test methods, specifications, accepted practices, and accepted terminology, are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access and trade, and build consumer confidence. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, environmental engineering, geological engineering, health and safety engineering, industrial engineering, materials science engineering, mechanical engineering, nuclear engineering, petroleum engineering, soil science and irrigation engineering, and solar engineering. Updated regularly.

Access to information contained in the CAS and MEDLINE databases from more than 9500 journals. Some are full text. Besides journals, other sources include patents (some full text as far back as 1900 available), books, reviews, meeting abstracts, dissertations, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Subject areas covered: genomics, proteomics, biotechnology, agricultural chemistry, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science, packaging, petroleum products and many others. Unique to SciFinder-n is the capability to access millions of different specific chemical substances, including organic compounds, coordination compounds, polymers, biosequences, and alloys. From these records access to structure diagrams, names and molecular formulas are included. Access to millions of single and multistep reactions from journals, 1840 to the present are also available. Chemical source information, including supplier addresses and pricing information, for millions of products is available from hundreds of chemical catalogs. Further technical details are available in the SciFinder-n FAQ and theCAS Java download page. The SciFinder Scholar desktop applications method (client) is no longer available.