Welcome!
Search All Library Webpages
Search the main Library web page and the Subject Guides at the same time.
Find It Now!
Library Research Resources
Off Campus Access
While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current UT Arlington student, faculty member, or staff member. See this page for help.
Top Databases
- Academic Search Complete
Offers critical information from many sources found in no other database, including peer-reviewed full text articles for almost 4600 periodical titles with more than 100 scholarly journals dating back to 1965. - JSTOR
Over 1000 leading academic journals in humanities, ALL articles are full text, ALL journals covered from vol. 1, issue 1; however, most recent (3–5 years) material is NOT here. - WorldCat
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide. WorldCat contains more than 32 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world (including UTA). - Web of Knowledge
ISI Web of Knowledge delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides a wealth of full-text reference materials in an electronic format. Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
Peer-Reviewed Journals: How Can I Tell?
NOTE: Even if a journal is peer-reviewed, usually opinion pieces (editorials, book reviews, etc.) are NOT. Always check with your instructor to get final word on whether a source is acceptable!
- Two Strategies for Determining Whether a Journal is Peer-Reviewed
Link to a short (3-min.) video demonstrating two quick strategies for determining whether a journal is peer-reviewed. Please be sure to click on the fullscreen view button to the right of the timeline for the video so that you can see the details.
Quick Search: Academic Search Complete
News
- NPR (National Public Radio)
An internationally acclaimed producer and distributor of noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming. - CNN International
The international edition of CNN.com is constantly updated to bring the top news stories from around the world. - BBC
To enrich people's lives with programmes and services that inform, educate and entertain.
Jody's Contact Info |
If I am offline, please LEAVE ME AN EMAIL ADDRESS so I can get back to you. |
What do you think?
Your opinion makes a difference. Provide comments to help us improve. Thanks.
How helpful is this guide?
Description
Loading content... please wait






