Last Updated: Jun 28, 2013
While some of the resources in this guide are freely available, most research databases and electronic journals and many online library services have access restrictions that require that you be a current UT Arlington student, faculty member, or staff member. See this page for help.
These sources from the University of Texas at Arlington Library Special Collections are freely provided to teachers for use in their classrooms.
- Cartographic Connections
This site features historic maps of Texas and the Southwest, dating from the 1500s through the 1900s. Many maps have a TEKS-aligned lesson plan accompanying it.
- History's Lessons
A collection of reproducible documents, images, and maps from the Special Collections Division of the UT Arlington Library. Each item has a TEKS-aligned lesson plan accompanying it.
- Tejano Voices
The Tejano Voices Project focuses on seventy-seven oral history interviews with Tejano and Tejana leaders from across the state. These interviews were conducted in 1992-1999, and emphasize the personal stories and struggles of the interviewees.
- Time Frames Online
Time Frames regularly spotlights a photograph, map, or document drawn from a broad spectrum of subjects in our extensive collections of the history of Arlington, the Dallas-Fort Worth area, Texas, Mexico and the greater Southwest.
- Access Court Case Files in NARA's Southwest Region, Fort Worth, TX
NARA's Southwest Region in Fort Worth, Texas stores closed case files from Federal, U.S. district and bankruptcy courts located in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas.
- ARC-Archival Research Catalog
The Archival Research Catalog (ARC) is the online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings. Search descriptions of records and digital images we have in our custody.
- Genealogy Research
The Fort Worth facility has extensive microfilm holdings of value for genealogy research, among them:
* Federal population censuses for all States, 1790-1930 (including indexes for 1880, 1900, 1910, and 1920);
* military service records, pension and bounty land warrant applications;
* passenger arrival records;
* Dawes census cards and enrollment jackets for the Five Tribes of Oklahoma.
- Guide to Archival Holdings at the National Archives Southwest Region (Fort Worth)
This guide provides record group level descriptions for archival holdings maintained at NARA's Southwest Region in Fort Worth. A record group, the basic unit of archival control, is a body of organizationally related records designated by a number and the name of the federal agency, bureau, or activity that created or received them. NARA's Southwest Region in Fort Worth has 86 record groups, representing Federal agencies, bureaus, or other administrative units including federal courts in Arkansa
- National Archives Southwest Region in Fort Worth, Texas
NARA Ft. Worth holds the permanent records of the federal government. Any federal agencies working in the states of Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas are held at the NARA Fort Worth.
- Native American Records at the National Archives
The National Archives holds information about American Indians who maintained their ties to Federally-recognized Tribes (1830-1970). Most records are arranged by tribe
- Arkansas History Commission
"Our mission is to:
--keep and care for the official archives of the State of Arkansas;
--collect material bearing on the history of Arkansas from the earliest times;
--copy and edit official records and other historical material; and
--encourage historical work and research."
- CARAT--Catalog of Arkansas Resources and Archival Treasures
Search Arkansas land records, Confederate records, photographs, and manuscripts.
- Catholic Archives of Texas
Collects, preserves, and makes available for research those records of individuals and organizations engaged in work reflecting the goals of the Catholic Church in Texas.
- Dallas Public Library Texas/Dallas History & Archives Division
The collection of materials at the Texas/Dallas History & Archives Division is one of the largest of its kind in the nation. Our holdings span many aspects of the diverse history of not only Dallas and the surrounding area, but the entire state of Texas.
- Duke Digital Collections
A rich resource of digital collections that include women's history, African American history, advertising history, and documentary photography.
"Footnote helps you find and share historic documents. We are able to bring you many never-before-seen historic documents through our unique partnerships with The National Archives, the Library of Congress and other institutions." The site has over 72 million items digitized and arranged into collections like the Civil War, Holocaust, and Black History.
- Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
"The Gilder Lehrman Collection, on deposit at the New-York Historical Society, contains more than 60,000 documents detailing the political and social history of the United States. The collection's holdings include manuscript letters, diaries, maps, photographs, printed books and pamphlets ranging from 1493 through modern times."
- Library and Archives of Canada
"Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has a collection strong in history, literature and music. The Learning Centre allows us to open our vaults to all Canadians by making some of our treasures available online. Students gain access to material that will enrich their learning experience."
Please suggest any links you think you should be added to this guide.