It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Work with Diverse Populations: Finding Academic Articles
In basic terms, academic articles, also called scholarly sources, are written by scholars for scholars and go through a scholarly publication process. This scholarly publication process usually includes some form of peer-review, which means it is vetted by experts in the field and therefore considered more credible than information that hasn't gone through this process.
Some of your background information sources may also be considered scholarly sources (i.e. textbooks and some encyclopedias), but the difference here is that rather than examining a broad topic, academic articles are much more focused on a narrow topic or a single study that provides evidence to back up the background information as well as inform clinical practice.
Below you will find some of the best places to locate these types of articles and some tips for how to search for them.
Contains information on the fields of social work, social services, social welfare, social policy, and human services. NOTE: Only 8 simultaneous users allowed.
Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work, social services, social welfare, social policy, and human services. It includes abstracts of articles and dissertations. All areas of social work are covered, including theory and practice, many areas of service, social issues, and social problems. Social Work Abstracts is produced by the National Association of Social Workers.
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1300 research-oriented serial publications focused on social work, human services, social policy and community development.
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 1300 research-oriented serial publications focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development, including dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Provides links to UTA holdings including full-text articles in journals to which UTA has licensed access.
Includes more than 49,500 bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
LGBTQ+ Life is an indexing and abstracting resource covering world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes links to some full text resources.
LGBTQ+ Life is a focused resource covering world literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. The database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 180 LGBT-specific core periodicals and more than 310 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. It includes current coverage of these sources, as well as deep backfiles for key publications - many back to the first published issue. Examples of publications indexed back to their inaugural issues include The Advocate (1967), Journal of Homosexuality (1974) and Harvard Gay and Lesbian Review (1994). It also contains articles mined from more than 40 priority periodicals as well as more than 6,500 select titles. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications, including Journal of Bisexuality, Gay Times,Lesbian News, Journal of Lesbian Studies, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, Journal of Gender Studies, NWSA Journal, Women's Studies, etc.
1. Don't search as a single phrase - instead, break your topic up into main concepts and place each concept on its own search line, separated by AND
2. Not finding enough sources? Think of synonyms for each of your concepts and combine them with ORS
3. Use truncations to include multiple variations of a word, i.e. persist* (includes persist, persistence, and persistent)
4. Use the Peer Reviewed or Scholarly Articles limiters in your search results