Medieval & Early Modern Studies: Reference Resources
Why study the medieval and early modern periods? Because there is something in these periods that speaks to every interest—globalization, environmentalism, ethnicity, religion, new media ... the list is endless. This guide will help you in your research
The GVRL provides a wealth of full-text reference materials in an electronic format. A wide variety of subjects are included
The GVRL provides a wealth of full-text reference materials in an electronic format. Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
Full text access to titles from Oxford University Press. The collection includes subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference works in more than twenty subject areas. NOTE: Only 1 simultaneous user allowed.
Oxford Reference Online Premium brings together over 175 titles in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. All of the reference titles can be searched at once. More than twenty subject areas are covered.
Biographical dictionary of persons of distinction in the British Isles and its colonies who have died. NOTE: Only 1 simultaneous user allowed.
This significant reference work is a biographical dictionary of people of distinction in the British Isles and its colonies who have died. Signed articles are written by specialists. Bibliographies of resource material are included at the end of the articles. Content includes the complete text of the new 60 volume Oxford DNB as well as the complete text of the original 30 volume Dictionary of National Biography.
Authoritative resource on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Provides information on the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Guide to contemporary research in medieval archaeology from a wide range of scholars. Provides list of contributors with affiliation, index, site entries by country, and suggestions for further readings.
A cross-disciplinary resource, it examines the daily reality of medieval women from all walks of life in Europe between 450 CE and 1500 CE, i.e., from the fall of the Roman Empire to the discovery of the Americas.
A cross-disciplinary resource,Womenand Gender in Medieval Europeexamines the daily reality of medieval women from all walks of life in Europe between 450 CE and 1500 CE, i.e., from the fall of the Roman Empire to the discovery of the Americas.
Offers comprehensive treatment of a key period in Jewish history. This groundbreaking reference work features over 150 A-Z entries on Jewish civilization between the fall of the Western Roman Empire (476 CE) and the discovery of the New World in 1492.
This unique volume focuses on the Iberian kingdoms from the fall of the Roman Empire to the aftermath of the Reconquista. The nearly 1,000 signed A-Z entries, written by renowned specialists in the field, encompass topics of key relevance to medieval Iberia, including people, events, works, and institutions, as well as interdisciplinary coverage of literature, language, history, arts, folklore, religion, and science.
Analyses of the narrative representations of Charlemagne produced after his death, and thereafter focuses on the evidence from Charlemagne's lifetime concerning the creation of the Carolingian dynasty and the growth of the kingdom, the court and the royal household, communications and identities in the Frankish realm in the context of government, and Charlemagne's religious and cultural strategies.
Known as the greatest traveler of premodern times, Abu Abdallah ibn Battuta was born in Morocco in 1304 and educated in Islamic law. Dunn's classic interprets Ibn Battuta's adventures and places them within the rich, trans-hemispheric cultural setting of medieval Islam.
This study examines Berenguela's use of authority and power, her legitimacy as a female ruler, and her motherhood and patronage in her efforts to maintain the thrones of Castile and Leon for her family.
This authoritative biography of Moses Maimonides, one of the most influential minds in all of human history, illuminates his life as a philosopher, physician, and lawgiver. A biography on a grand scale, it brilliantly explicates one man’s life against the background of the social, religious, and political issues of his time.
How to Use Gale Virtual Reference Library
Using Wikipedia for Academic Research
This tutorial explains how to use Wikipedia as an exploratory tool and where it can appropriately fit in the research process. Created by Michael Baird, Cooperative Library Instruction Project (CLIP)