Why study the medieval and early modern periods? Because there is something in these periods that speaks to every interest—globalization, environmentalism, ethnicity, religion, new media ... the list is endless. This guide will help you in your research
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to thousands of full-text academic journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of thousands of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
Designed to meet the research needs of the medievalist
The Middle English Compendium offers access to three major Middle English electronic sources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, A HyperBibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse, and The Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. Interconnectivity through hypertext links increases the power and potential of each. The Compendium is an essential electronic resource for medievalists.
The International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB), established in 1967, is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages.
The International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB), established in 1967, is the leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages. It indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. It covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Discipline areas to which it is relevant: Archaeology, Art History, Classics, English Literature, French Language and Literature, History, Medieval & Renaissance Studies, and Philosophy.
provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
There are over 17,000 records in the database currently, and more than five hundred records are added every four months. We index the most current year for which full journal volumes are available along with backlog years, and we are now working both on 2005-2006 and on the remaining publications from 1990 through 2004.
A digital library of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures.
ARTstor is a nonprofit, digital library comprised of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. The database encompasses artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It is designed to be used by art historians, as well as researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images. The database can be searched by keyword, or, through the advanced search, by creator, title, location, repository, subject, material, style or period, work type, culture, description, technique, and/or number. A suite of software tools also allow users to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Updated regularly.
A comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA) is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art, including European and American, from late antiquity to the present. BHA and RILA indexes and provides abstracts for art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from thousands of periodicals in many languages. The database is particularly strong in European art from the medieval through modern periods, and in the indexing of foreign language materials. With its broad scope, BHA and RILA is of great use to those interested in fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture, decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art. Click here for a list of journals found in this database. Updated regularly.
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries of the English language. A work in progress that currently covers letters A thru H.
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. A work in progress, the Dictionary currently covers letters A thru H and includes every spelling of a word, frequency counts for each word in the corpus, usage labels and exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.
An online database consisting of at least one copy of every Old English text
The Dictionary of Old English Corpus is a database consisting of at least one copy of every Old English text. It includes over 3,000 different texts representing about three million words of Old English and another two million words of Latin.
This full-text work in progress contains images of early printed works listed in the Short-Title Catalogue (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640; Wing, 1641-1700) and the Thomason Tracts, a compendium of broadsides on the English Civil War
This full-text work in progress covers the time period from when the first book was published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare. When completed, it will contain all of the titles listed inPollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1647), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) along with the Thomason Tractsand the Early English Book Tract Supplement. Graduate students in English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science will find this source to be of value.
Brings together Grove Art Online and other Oxford art resources so that entries and images can be searched in one location. NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.
Oxford Art Online is a gateway to Oxford art resources allowing users to search and browse the extensive collection of entries and images all in one location. Oxford Art Online includes the following: Grove Art Online a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-western visual art. The Oxford Companion to Western Art contains articles on topics of contemporary interest, including art movements, theory, and criticism. The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics which surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms provides 1,800 entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts.
A collection of titles of major importance to historical studies
A collection of mostly older titles of major importance to historical studies. There are a few electronic book original titles. All titles can be searched simultaneously. Initiated by the American Council of Learned Societies, this database is a collaboration of twelve learned societies, over 95 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and logic as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals and Festchriften.
TOCS-IN is a volunteer project that was started in 1992. It makes available, for searching, browsing, or downloading, the table of contents of journals and Festschriften of interest to classicists. Where possible, links are provided with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online.